Meet Toughies Casey, Kim and Megan!

12 Nov

Name: Casey

Location: Arlington Heights, IL

Sport of Choice: Running and CrossFit

2013 Race Plans: I’m signed up to run my first ever half marathon at the Disney Princess Half Marathon in Orlando to celebrate my one year running anniversary! What makes you a Tough Chik: That I have the courage to keep pushing my boundaries and exploring new things, both in fitness and in life, even when it would be easier to just stay where I am.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Can being in multiple places at once count as a super power? Sometimes I don’t know if there are enough hours in the day to get things done. Plus, then I could be lazing on a warm, sunny beach in the middle of a Chicago winter and still be working or in class without a problem!

Fun Fact: I have shoes in every color of the rainbow because color coordinating my workout clothes makes me smile!

Blog: http://www.ProjectGirlGetFit.com

Name: Kim

Location: Annapolis, MD

Sport of Choice: running

2013 Race Plans: Mickey Marathon, Tri It Triathlon (first!!!), Run For the Dream Half Marathon, Annapolis champ Series

What makes you a Tough Chik: I did my first marathon this year in combination with the Goofy Challenge. I did 39.3 miles in one weekend in addition to it being my first marathon. I recommend it to everyone! The looks you get from people the whole time is worth every second!!!.

If you had a super power, what would it be? I would want to be able to fly. I hate planes so that would be easier!

Fun Fact: I started a running program for the dogs at my local SPCA (granted I work there but it is still cool).

Blog: http://triandtrue.net

Name: Megan

Location: Takoma Park, MD (Washington, DC area)

Sport of Choice: running (half marathon), triathlon

2013 Race Plans: Walt Disney World Marathon (my first!), Disney’s Princess Half Marathon, B&A Trail Half, Run for the Dream Patriot’s Challenge (8k and Half), Tri It Triathlon (sprint), IronGirl Columbia Triathlon (sprint)… probably some more fall races.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I started running because no one thought I could do it.  Because of my running, I discovered I have a minor heart syndrome.  I’ve had to slow down, but I keep going.  I refuse to let anything hold me back.  I may be slow, but I’ve learned that I don’t have to be the best.  I just try to do my best.  And I try to share that lesson with others.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Flight.  And maybe the ability to shrink my luggage down to pocket-size.  This way, I could just fly myself and my stuff when I go on vacation and I wouldn’t have to deal with the airport.  Because with the way I pack, there’s no way I could fly through the air while carrying everything.

Fun Fact: I once danced on national television with Bear in the Big Blue House.  Hilariously embarrassing.

Blog: http://www.elbowglitter.com/blog

One Response to “Meet Toughies Casey, Kim and Megan!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Team Tough Chik | triandtrue - November 13, 2012

    […] today I was featured on the team’s website toughchik.wordpress.com in addition to Casey and my awesome running partner […]

Leave a comment