2014 Team Tough Chik – meet Christine, Erika and Barbara

6 May
Christine

Christine

Name: Christine H.

Location: Harwich, MA (Cape Cod)

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Outside of Running, I enjoy anything Walt Disney, I enjoy flying in our little Cessna airplane with my husband, I love going to plays, and reading.

2014 Race Plans: Feb 2014 Princess Half Marathon WDW
Hoping to do Coast to Coast with Sept 2014 Disneyland Half Marathon, Dumbo Dare with fellow TTC Virginia Howard, and also Rock’N Roll 1/2 St. Louis.

What makes you a Tough Chik? I think I am a Tough Chik because I keep moving- sometimes it isn’t what I want to do, but I do it anyways!

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? I don’t think I have any gadget I cant live without

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? My favorite inspiration quote is by Walt Disney,
“The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing.”

Fun Fact: My husband and I were married at Walt Disney World and Mickey Mouse was at our reception.

 

Erika

Erika

Name: Erika M.

Location: Canton, MI

Sport of Choice: Triathlon

Hobbies: Other than swimming/biking/running, I love spending time with my daughter Julia (and now Emily!), my husband Rob, scrap booking, outdoor activities with friends and family and anything around Michigan State!

2014 Race Plans: I’m due with my second baby in April 2014 (she just had baby Emily our newest Toughie!), so race plans are a bit on hold until late summer. I hope to compete in the National Age Group Championships for Olympic distance triathlon in August, but that’s TBD. Beyond that, I may do some late season triathlons and maybe a half marathon here and there.

What makes you a Tough Chik? I am determined, focused and won’t let anything stand in my way. When I’m faced with difficult situations or trying to juggle a million things at once, I find a way to make things work and still continue to train and work towards my goals.

I also love helping my friends achieve their goals – and even though in the midst of a race when I’m pushing them beyond their limits and they hate me at the time, once we cross the finish line they are so thankful for my help. Tough love sometimes does the trick!

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? my iPhone

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? You will never know your limits until you push yourself to them and beyond.

Fun Fact: I was one of the first Bicentennial babies born in Washington DC

Barbara

Barbara

Name: Barbara W.

Location: Llano, CA

Sport of Choice: Triathlon and Cycling

Hobbies: I own my own internet business and I also help my husband with his business. We each have our own Harley’s and enjoying taking them out. As well as off roading in our Polaris and cruising in our Dune Buggy. So basically anything with wheels I love. I also have a TT Bike, Road Bike and Mountain Bike. Yes, they all get used.

I love to go pine cone hunting and hiking.

I also love crafting and scrap booking.

2014 Race Plans: So far ..

Shadow Tour 50 Miler in January in Ocotillo, CA
Firecracker Bike 30 Miles and Run 10K in February in Chinatown – Los Angeles
Napa Valley 70.3 Triathlon – CA in April
Silverman 70.3 in Henderson, NV in Oct

What make you a Tough Chik: I’m a TOUGH CHIK because I don’t let nothing get in my way of my dreams.   I give it all I have and do my best. I want to show my family and friends it is never too late to start.

Here is my blog of where I came from and where I am going.

http://BionicBarbiTri-ing.Blogspot.Com

75 lbs later and a new hip and shoulder reconstruction I am ready to TEAR IT UP! Ironman 2015 is right around the corner.
What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? Iphone because of the music

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? There are No Mountains You can’t climb!

Fun Fact:I am a jokester! I love making people laugh and acting goofy.

And if I see you out there racing, you just might hear me yelling HI or waving to everyone I can! Sometimes I forget its a race!

Leave a comment