Welcome to Team Tough Chik, Kam, Jillian and RunFastMama

14 Nov

Name: Kam

Location: Tustin, CA

Sport of Choice: Climbing, running

2013 Race Plans: No solid race plans, but The Color Run will be in Orange County in April, and I plan on doing that with my work. Other 5K or 10K races will be on the list, too.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am a Tough Chik because I don’t stand for it when somebody tells me I can’t do something because I’m too small, too weak, or too female. I make it my goal to prove them wrong and to prove to myself that I can do it!

If you had a super power, what would it be? If I had a superpower, it would be power mimicry, like Rogue from X-men. I wouldn’t want to be limited to one power, I want to try the all! Just like, I’m not just interested in running, I also enjoy bouldering, Pilates, and yoga…in addition to my other outdoor interests like backpacking.

Fun Fact: A fun fact about me: I love to make lists! I even started a semi-annual challenge called 30 Days of Lists, where people join and make one list a day for 30 days to capture who they are and what they enjoy during that period of their life.

Blog: CampfireChic.com

Name: RunFastMama

Location: Metro Detroit, MI

Sport of Choice: Running, Snowboarding, Skiing, Longboarding

2013 Race Plans: Walt Disney World Goofy Challenge, then working on seeing how fast I can get at the Half Marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: Determination and No Excuses!  As a wife and professional working Mama of 2, I make time to persue my goals and dreams. I love being able to try new experiences right along side my kids.  They were shocked I could skateboard and I taught them how to as well!  I It is awesome being an active Mama!

If you had a super power, what would it be? To have endless time to accomplish everything and to make dishes and laundry clean themselves!

Fun Fact: I once ran 20 miles in my subdivision and the two subdivisions that connect to it.

Blog: www.runfastmama.com

Jillian

Name: Jillian

Location: Binghamton, NY

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: Lots of running!!  Right now on the docket we have – Walt Disney World Marathon, Mercedes Marathon, Gasparilla Distance Festival, Yuengling Shamrock Marathon, Tacoma City Marathon, Mind the Ducks 12 Hour Ultra.  Haven’t planned a ton beyond that yet, but my husband and I are both “Marathon Maniacs” and try to race 2-3 times per month. I also will typically run a 5K on the weekend if we are home.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I think what makes me a ‘Tough Chik’ and why I was most intrigued by this is my illness.  I have lupus, and have been dealing with this illness most of my life.  There are days I feel great, there are days I don’t.  But running makes me strong – running makes me tough.  I love to go out there and just run – some days faster than others, but it’s just liberating to know that I’ve got the upper hand on this stupid illness.  I’m tougher than it is!

If you had a super power, what would it be? If I had a super power, it would be the ability to create a clean porta-potty anywhere on a race course at anytime I need one 🙂

Fun Fact: I not only run – I play women’s ice hockey!

Leave a Reply

