2014 Team Tough Chik – Meet Ronda, Christine and Jody!

22 Apr
Ronda

Ronda

Name: Ronda W.

Location: White Hall, MD

Sport of Choice: Running, cycling, soccer, volleyball, hiking

Hobbies: Reading, sewing, crochet, gardening, playing πŸ™‚

2014 Race Plans: Disney Princess Half Marathon in February, women’s sprint duathalon Columbia MD in August. I’m planning for a fall marathon too, just haven’t picked a race yet. Will run another half or two. I’ll also run some 5ks and 10ks. πŸ™‚

What makes you a Tough Chik? Well….I wasn’t sure I qualified as a tough Chik at first. I started running regularly January 2012 for me and my sanity. I survived my divorce and was finding me. I ran a 5k in February. I ran my first half marathon October 2012. I’ve run 3 half marathons and a marathon since then. Completed a Tough Mudder. I’ve PR’d in my 5k, 10k, half and marathon this year. My journey has been fantastic and I can’t wait to see where this year goes!

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? My Garmin forerunner 10 aka “G”

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? Just one??
Doing today what others won’t so tomorrow I can do what others can’t.
Your legs aren’t giving out. Your head is. Keep going.
Run when you can, walk if you need to, crawl if you must, just never give up.
I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Fun Fact: I have great Halloween costumes. This year I was Wonder Woman. πŸ™‚
I named my bike Squirt.

 

Name: Christine C.

Location: Orange County CA

Sport of Choice: Road Biking, 5K races, Triathlon sprints, hiking

Hobbies: Tending my garden, road biking with my buddies and having fun with my cats.

2014 Race Plans: Race on the Base, as well as some other local Tri-sprint events. I’ll probably ride the OCW Century in September

What makes you a Tough Chik? I may not be at the top of the leader board, but I’ll grit my teeth and push on! As I become more athletic, I am becoming more OK with my competitive nature! I like being strong and active!

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? can’t think of one

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? pain is temporary, pride is forever
Destroy your illusions

 

Jody

Jody

Name: Jody D.

Location: Marysville, CA

Sport of Choice: 1) Running
2) Cycling
3) Tri

Can’t pick only one……

Hobbies: Training, reading, being outdoors

2014 Race Plans: Several small races + my first 10 miler and my first 1/2 marathon!

What make you a Tough Chik: Pushing myself beyond what I think are my limits and always trying to up the ante!

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? Garmin

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? Make your moves count ’cause you ain’t dead yet!

Fun Fact:I love the ocean.

Leave a Reply

