3 More Toughies! Pam, Danielle and Tammy

9 Feb

Pam

Name: Pam

Location: Arlington, VA

Sport of Choice: RUNNING!

Hobbies: yoga

2012 Race Plans: 3 Half Marathons, Ragnar Relay DC, Richmond Marathon

What make you a Tough Chik: I don’t let physical pain or negativity stop me from chasing my potential.

Blog: knickerstwisted.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact: Singer in a rock band!

Danielle

Name: Danielle

Location: Rhode Island

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Cooking, Sewing, Photography

2012 race Plans: Worcester 1/2 Marathon (Worcester, MA); RnR Providence 1/2 Marathon (Providence, RI);  Air Force Marathon (Dayton, OH).  Hoping to get into Marine Corps Marathon; applied for lottery of NYC Marathon; contemplating my 1st tri (sprint) in June

What makes you a Tough Chik: I was never the athlete growing up; I was a quitter because it didn’t come easy.  But after my first child I decided to not quit when running was hard and I realized that with lots of hard work and dedication, I was half way decent.  I successfully ran through my second pregnancy, hitting a 1/2 marathon PR, and completing two more 1/2’s at 18 and 28-weeks respectively.  How did I ever not think I was tough?!

Blog: mymummashoes.wordpress.com/

Fun Fact: I competed in ballroom dancing at the collegiate level; I’m a construction project manager and wear pink construction boots when I’m at work

Tammy

Name: Tammy

Location: St. John’s, Newfoundland, CANADA

Sport of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: Reading, Learning, Volunteering, Organizing Fun Walk/Run Events for Charity

2012 Race Plans: I am training for my First Marathon, which takes place in ROME, March 2013.  I plan to do a few 5K’s, 10K’s, a local 15K, the Tely 10-Miler, and the Provincial Half Marathon in September.  Then I will focus on Marathon Training (which I hope to have a better base for by then!).

What make you a Tough Chik: I think I’m a tough chik because I chose to run despite that my friends, family, and coworkers thought I was crazy.  I’m terrified to the core at the thought of training for a marathon, much less running one – but I’m going to do it anyway!  I’m a member of The Arthritis Society’s Joints in Motion Training Team and have committed to raising $6,500 for the opportunity to support arthritis research and to run my first marathon in such a memorable location.  Last May I raised $8,100 and ran the Great Wall (Half) Marathon in China.  Some people think it’s all about the trips, but for me it’s about community.  I enjoy volunteering and putting in the hours and hard work that is required to ensure success.  Raising money to support non-profit organizations takes considerable effort and I am always in awe of the amazing people that work for non-profit organizations.  I’ve met so many wonderful people through volunteering and will continue to do so for as long as I can.  I work full time, take two University courses per semester in the evenings or by distance education, volunteer with the Arthritis Society, Group Lead at various running clinics with The Running Room, and I organize and host several fundraisers during the year :o)   Oh yeah, and I train for various races ranging from the 5K to the Half (and now Full) Marathon!

Blog: I tried to BLOG last year while raising money for arthritis research during my Great Wall adventure … I might try it again  :o)

Fun Fact: When I started running in May 2007, most of my race photos had me with the ambulance right behind (as I was always at the back of the pack).  Now, I am proud to say that I no longer let that bother me and that sometimes there are a couple of people behind me instead!  I’m still slow, but I have improved over the past few years and look forward to making great strides during this year’s training!

Leave a comment