Meet these 3 wonderful Toughies! Rebecca, Therese and Jen!

13 Feb

Rebecca

Name: Rebecca

Location: Hickory, NC

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Jewelry, lifting weights, aerobics, zumba, hanging with family & friends, shopping

2012 Race Plans: NC Half in March, Cooper River Bridge Run 10K in March, Racefest Half in April, Divas Half in May, not sure what the 2nd half of the year will hold.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I started running back in late summer of 2010 and completed my first half in the fall of that year.  I haven’t looked back since!   I’ve completed multiple 5k’s and a 10k. Despite several newbie injuries when I started, I’ve learned that I’m a lot tougher and stronger than I ever thought I was.  When it gets rough out on the road (and it still does) I just have to remind myself that ‘I’m stronger than I think I am’ and that helps me get through!

Fun Fact: I ran my first half last year and already signed up for three this year.  I’m a running addict and proud of it!  Bring on the sweat!

Name: Therese

Location: Huntsville, AL

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: ultimate soccer mom

2012 race Plans: Seaside?, 4 on the 4th in Keene, NH

What makes you a Tough Chik: Love to try new things.  Love to go to new places with my girlfriends. I exercise when time allows!

Fun Fact: I have 3 kids who keep me super busy!  I am a sign language  interpreter in the school system.

Jen

Name: Jen

Location: Northern NJ (AKA: “The Dirty Jerz”)

Sport of Choice: Running

Other Hobbies: Writing, dancing, film, word games

2012 Race Plans: Tentative: Hollywood half (CA) Longbranch half (NJ) and FINGERS CROSSED: ING NYC Marathon in November

What make you a Tough Chik: Staring down being 90 pounds overweight, the loss of a 16 year job, having to short-sell my house and dealing with a new baby with special needs I had a choice – to stay down or get up. I chose to get up. It wasn’t easy. Instead of drowning my sorrows and killing myself slowly with ice cream, alcohol and cigarettes I chose to live. I chose to get tough. So I started running. And I learned something. Step-by-step and mile-by-mile I became stronger. I got faster. And I got fitter. 90 pounds later and I have learned to not mind falling down because I know that I have the ability to get back up – I have learned that I can face down and do ANYTHING because I am one TOUGH Chik.

Blog: http://seejenroerun.blogspot.com/

Fun Fact: My guilty pleasure is playing poker and one of my dreams is to play in the World Series of Poker someday. Couple of people behind me instead!  I’m still slow, but I have improved over the past few years and look forward to making great strides during this year’s training!

Leave a Reply

