2014 Team Tough Chik – Meet Kim, Danielle S and Danielle C!

15 Apr
Kim

Kim

Name: Kim P.
Location: Jersey Shore
Sport of Choice: Running, especially the Half Marathon
Hobbies: Crochet, movies, reading, logic puzzles, kayaking, paddle boarding
2014 Race Plans: Dopey, 14 half Marathons, a duathlon, some mud runs, including the Spartan Race, a bunch of 5Ks, a few 5 milers, and a couple 10Ks 😉
What makes you a Tough Chik? Perseverance, I never give up, no matter what! I may not be a fast runner, but I finish what I start!
What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? iPhone
What is your favorite inspirational phrase? John Bingham: ‘The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.’
Fun Fact: I was once the back cover/inside story girl in a Collage Video’s catalog.

Danielle

Danielle

Name: Danielle S.
Location: Westbrook, Maine
Sport of Choice: running
Hobbies: Now that I have my son, my “hobbies” have taken a back seat… but other than running, I enjoy spending time with my family, taking photographs, reading, and attempting to learn how to sew.
2014 Race Plans: Mid Winter Classic 10 miler in February, Great Bay Half Marathon in April, Maine Coast Marathon in May, potentially the Pineland Farms 50k, Bradbury Mountain Trail running series, and potentially two fall marathons. I’m tired just looking at that schedule, haha (and I’m sure that wont be all!)
What makes you a Tough Chik? I think just being able to lace up my shoes and get out the door for a run makes me a tough chik (makes anyone a tough chik!)… but I ran a 10k, two 5ks, and two marathons (!!) while pregnant, and bounced back after having him and ran 3 half marathons in 6 weeks, and getting a new shiny PR. Life with a newborn is tough, but running makes me feel so good and helps me be a healthy role model for my son!
What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? My nalgene water bottle… i know its not a gadget, but I cant live without it!
What is your favorite inspirational phrase? “When you come to the edge of all the light you know and are about to step off into the darkness of the unknown, faith is knowing one of two things will happen: There will be something solid to stand on, or you will be taught how to fly.” -Patrick Overton
Fun Fact: omg I LOVE fun facts! After meeting my (now) husband and deferring my acceptance into a Social Work masters program in Boston, I changed my career path entirely. I am now a Respiratory Therapist at a small hospital in southern Maine and I love the work that I do. There are many things in my life that remind me to always keep my mind open to new opportunities. You never know where the road of life may lead you, but its hard to see all the beauty if you keep your eyes closed.

Danielle

Danielle

Name: Danielle C.
Location: RI / NC
Sport of Choice: Running
Hobbies: Other than running, I enjoy spending time with my family. I have two great kiddos who keep me very active! I enjoy reading, cooking, photography, designing, blogging at fitmomsfullplates.com, sewing, and watching Project Runway and Top Chef.
2014 Race Plans: I’m hoping to run a late spring marathon to try for another BQ time but I’m also going to be moving from RI to NC at that time so it will be difficult to train. If that doesn’t work out then I’m looking at Air Force Marathon in September as a last chance 2015 BQ time.

I think I will also be running NYC in the fall, as I am the last year grandfathered into the 3 and in rule for the lottery selection!
What make you a Tough Chik: I don’t accept anything less than my best! Running is not something natural for me–it has taken a lot of hard work and dedication to get where I am. I still have a long way to go in order to get where I want to be, and I won’t accept less than 110% of my effort. It’s about inspiring others and showing my daughter that if you put the work in and believe in yourself anything is possible!
What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? iPhone…it has my music play lists AND a camera…what more do I need?
What is your favorite inspirational phrase? I have a few but if I narrowed it down to two the first would be from Dolvett on the Biggest Loser–“Hard Work; Dedication!” it applies to so many different areas of life–not just running!

My own mantra that I repeat to myself is “Be epic; run fierce; and have bitchin’ focus!”
Fun Fact: I’m moving from RI to NC at the start of the year. It’s bittersweet because I’m leaving my extended family and friends and everything familiar to me and starting a new journey with my husband and kids where we know 1 person. It’s going to be a challenge but w

 

Leave a Reply

