2014 Team Tough Chik – Meet Dede, Kathy and Whitney!

8 Apr
Dede

Dede

Name: Dede H.

Location: Big Bear Lake

Sport of Choice: Biking, swimming, paddling

Hobbies: Biking, gardening, SUP, kayak, hiking

2014 Race Plans: Tour de Palm Springs
Snowshoe the Bear
Big Bear PaddleFest
Big Bear Memorial Day 5k
Kodiak 100 (support)
Tour de Big Bear (support)
Big Bear MTB Gran Fondo (organizer)
Big Bear Grizzly 100 (organizer)
Endure the Bear
Big Bear Turkey Trot
Big Bear Triathlon (support and/or participant)
complete a century ride or sprint tri???

What makes you a Tough Chik? I have always been one tough chik!!! At over 60, I keep on keeping on! Still think I can do everything I have done all my life and MORE.   I am thankful that my daughter and her friends all accept me as the “mom” of the group.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? Kindle

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? My life is better than your vacation. (I’m retired and enjoying life!)

Fun Fact: Lauren’s mom…and the rest of the Big Bear gals!

 

Kathy

Kathy

Name: Kathy A.

Location: Ohio

Sport of Choice: Running and biking.

Hobbies: Reading, studying (I am a college student now that my children are almost grown – and I love it!!) and running. Playing with my 2 adorable grandchildren.

2014 Race Plans: I always run a couple of 5ks in my hometown, and I would love to run my second marathon if I have time to train. I would really love to run a trail marathon. Maybe a couple of half marathons.

What makes you a Tough Chik? I started running a few years ago when I was 42 years old, but I have been biking for a long time. I bike the MS Pedal to the Point (150 miles) every year.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? Garmin watch. No, my iphone.

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? Just change one letter and hill becomes hell. Hah! My sister & I say that repeatedly on long bike rides!

Fun Fact:I am one of 11 children and I have 7 kids of my own. Holidays are crazy but so fun!

 

 

Whitney

Whitney

Name: Whitney Sutherland

Location: Bella Vista, AR

Sport of Choice: Triathlon – Running, Swimming, Biking!

Hobbies: I enjoy reading and hanging out with my family. I wish I was a craftier person! I do occasionally try to get crafty with new recipes!

2014 Race Plans: Still working them out but currently signed up for Disney Princess Half Marathon. I have a few signature triathlon races that I do every year…Route 66 Festivus in June and Shark Sprint in July.

What make you a Tough Chik: I think I’m a Tough Chik because I have the courage to try. I was not an athletic person growing up. My sport was dance which does count but it wasn’t something that I did competitively. I love doing triathlon and running races because it helps me discover what I am capable of and that has a huge impact on every aspect of my life.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? My Garmin!

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? Finish stronger than you started.

Fun Fact:My family enjoys sports together. We do a Turkey Trot together every year and a 4th of July race together too. Even my nieces and nephew participate. What’s super fun for me is to see my sisters and their kids get interested in triathlon now too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

