2014 Team Tough Chik! Meet Lynette, Cheryl and Dereka!

25 Mar
Lynette

Lynette

Name: Lynette

Location: Shady Point, OK

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: sewing, crocheting, wrangling four kids

2014 Race Plans: Planning on a marathon in April and hopefully an ultra (50k) in September or October.

What makes you a Tough Chik? I’m wife to a soldier and mom to 4 kids. We’ve managed through 2 deployments (pushing a jogging stroller with 100lbs of kids is pretty tough!) and moves across the country all without losing my sanity =)

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? My Garmin

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Phil 4:13

CHERYL GREGORY

Name: Cheryl G.

Location: Salisbury, NC

Sport of Choice: I’ve always been athletic. I ran high school track and played field hockey. Then ran on a scholarship at Syracuse. Then life and “stuff” got in the way – I gained some weight and finally just decided it was time to make a change! So…I started walking and then running. While I ran track way back when – I always just ran short sprints and hurdles…never distance…so this was new. I’ve only been running since June 2013 – but LOVE it and plan to push myself more in 2014!

Hobbies: I’m a crafter. I do glass etching (have a little business – Enlightened Engravings) and love holiday crafts. I’m also a reading nut!

2014 Race Plans: I am running my first official 10K in February 2014 at the Disney Princess Half Marathon Weekend. EEEKKKK! In 2014 I plan to run many more 5K’s because I just think it’s a fun distance. I love to push myself and try to PR at each one! I want to run a 25min 5K (small steps!) and place in my age group – as that always seems to elude me!

 

What makes you a Tough Chik? I am a Melanoma Survivor (wear your sunscreen!!) and working to get myself back into shape. I want to be fit and lean again and will not stop until I get there!

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? My iPhone

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? Strive for progress, not perfection.
-Unknown

 

Name: Dereka E.

Location: Buffalo, NY

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: fitness, Disney vacation planning

2014 Race Plans: Walt Disney World Marathon, Tinker Bell Half Marathon, Buffalo Marathon, Upstate NY Tough Mudder

What make you a Tough Chik: I don’t quit.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? iPhone

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? Courage means being scared to death but saddling up anyway-John Wayne

Fun Fact: My mom was pregnant with me when Elvis died, she was pregnant with my half sister when Kurt Cobain died and I was pregnant with my daughter when Michael Jackson died. I won’t have another child for my fear of losing Madonna 🙂

Leave a Reply

