2014 Team Tough Chik – Meet Lori, Tina and Zenaida

18 Mar
Lori

Lori

Name: Lori N.

Location: San Marcos, CA

Sport of Choice: Running and just about any other form of athletic torture for fitness.

Hobbies: Labs and More Rescue (transport, fostering and weekend adoptions), bike rides, hiking, reading, movies and spending time with my family and friends.

2014 Race Plans: After the mileage I’ve put in running 2013 miles to raise $2013 for my lab rescue group in 2013, I thought I’ve taken a break. But my passion for running has already got the first half of 2014 somewhat scheduled. I’d like to upgrade my triple crown medals, but haven’t decided yet. So far some half marathons and 1 full are on the schedule.

What makes you a Tough Chik? I have always worked out and fell in love with running about 5 years ago. Being a Tough Chik to me is challenging myself to push harder or just accomplish the race set before me no matter how “tough”. I will always listen to my body and every race will be different, but I will always “tough” it out to do the best I can.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? iPhone – it’s my music, and my saving grace when I’m stuck and need a ride or food/drink or help for that matter.

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? 1 Cor. 9:24-27
Run in such a way to get the prize…

Hebrews 12:1-3
Run the race marked before you with perseverance… Do not grow weary and lose heart.

Fun Fact:  I’m obsessed with athletic wear, especially shoes! I’m kind of Imelda Marcos with my running shoes.

 

Tina

Tina

Name: Tina G.

Location: Calgary, Alberta CANADA

Sport of Choice: Running! (Mostly I prefer 10km or half marathon distance)

Hobbies: Cooking, Hiking, Reading, Writing, Soaking in the Bathtub, and, well, Running!

2014 Race Plans

Hypothermic Half marathon – Calgary, AB – Feb 16, 2014
Run for L’Arche Half Marathon – Calgary, AB – March 22, 2014
Calgary Police Half Marathon – Calgary, AB – April 27, 2014
BMO Vancouver – Half Marathon – Vancouver, BC – May 4, 2014
Rocky Mountain Soap Company Womens Run 10km – Canmore, AB – May 24, 2014
Rocky Mountain Soap Company Womens Run 10km – Canmore, AB – May 25, 2014
Calgary Marathon – 42.2km – Calgary, AB – June 1, 2014
North Face Rundle’s Revenge – 25km – Canmore, AB –
Stampede Road Race Half Marathon – Calgary, AB – July 6, 2014
Melissa’s Road Race 22km – Banff , AB – Sept 24, 2014
Vancouver Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon – Vancouver, BC – October 26, 2014

What makes you a Tough Chik?  I just might be 2 scoops of crazy. I run. 4-5 times a week. It didn’t used to be that way. I used to be in very good shape. Then, I spent a lot of time on my butt.

Then 40 came and I got off my butt.  At first it was walking, then running. But I kept moving.  Went from 5km to 10km to a half marathon.  After accomplishing something that I thought I could never do I realized I was tougher than I thought. So I signed up for a marathon! I have never been so excited and terrified at the same time on race day! And then … SO proud of myself.

Since 2011 I have run 21 half marathons. Not fast, but I run. I love how it feels. Getting tough with myself has helped me find my fun, fit, fabulous self. If you don’t love it, don’t do it. Do it, be it, live it, LOVE it. My mantra really is that 40 is a FABULOUS time to try something new. I am slightly terrified at the thought of training for another marathon! But I know I can. In rediscovering running, I have found passion, strength, self-esteem and confidence. And have met some amazing friends.  I have dug deep and discovered I can do things I never ever thought possible. Heck after trying trail running, half marathons and few marathons, and relay races  … maybe trying a duathlon is in my future! I am excited to see where my Tough will take me.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? My watch

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? “The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful.” – E.E. Cummings

And often when I am running, I have been known to shout out words like “Go!” or  “Breathe!”

Fun Fact: I was baptised with water from the Jordan River!
I have sung for the Queen, The Prime  Minister of Australia and 2 Prime Ministers of Canada!

 

Zenaida

Zenaida

 

Name: Zenaida A.

Location: Chicago

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Running

2014 Race Plans: Complete one ultra marathon, all RunDisney half marathons) and at least 14 half marathons.

What make you a Tough Chik: I am a teacher with 25 kids in my class.  I am their mentor and inspire them to do their best every single day.  I also run because I know that one day I won’t be able to.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? iPod

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? “Rule #1 of life. Do what makes YOU happy.” – Unknown

One Response to “2014 Team Tough Chik – Meet Lori, Tina and Zenaida”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three Things Thursday, March 20, 2014 | See Zenaida Run - March 20, 2014

    […] I am a member of Team Tough Chik and was recently featured on their blog.  Pretty cool […]

Leave a Reply

