Pool Problems…AGAIN!

17 Mar

Nothing like some inconsiderate boobs in the gym pool to bring me back to blogging.  Yes, I have been slacking…BIG TIME and I honestly have no excuse.  I wish I could say that I have dedicated my free time to helping out at a soup kitchen or walking dogs at a shelter, but no, I am not spending my free time helping man (or dog) kind.  And it isn’t even that I don’t have anything to say.  I have written several posts in my head on long runs or ride, trust me…they were AMAZING and very insightful.  If only I can get an assistant to follow me on my runs and rides to dictate posts to!  Wouldn’t that be awesome?

I digress…

As you have read (or can see by my links below), I have little patience poor pool etiquette.

https://toughchik.wordpress.com/2012/05/09/db-at-the-pool/

https://toughchik.wordpress.com/2013/06/28/punks-amuck-it-must-be-summer-in-the-suburbs/

https://toughchik.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/do-we-gotta-problem/

THIS

THIS

NOT THAT

NOT THAT

I am not talking about lane etiquette or actions that only an experience swimmer would know, I am talking about good ole consideration of others and awareness of those around you.  Last week we got to the pool and there were 2 teenagers play fighting each other in a lane.  This is the pool at my gym, that is completely roped off for lanes.  So they are taking a lane to put each other head locks.  So I have to share a lane (which is not a huge deal, but still) so you can play WWF water-style?  WTF?

Then last night I was swimming in a lane alone and there was an empty lane next to me.  A guy jumped into that lane and kind of started to swim.  Then his wife/girl-friend joined him in the lane to play and round of grab-a$$.  Of course, another swimmer shows up and shares a lane with me.  Again, not a big deal, but I have to share a lane so you can piggy-back each other and flirt.  Really?

Is it just me, or does this happen everywhere?  Do people at your gym treat the pool like a hotel pool? Shouldn’t a gym pool be considered a place to work out and not socialize?

6 Responses to “Pool Problems…AGAIN!”

  1. Corporate Triathlete (@CorpTri) March 17, 2014 at 4:58 pm #

    I’m cracking up over here, but only because I totally feel your pain. My biggest pool pet peeve (and I have many) are folks who jump into the lane with you without letting you know they’re there. Surprise head-on collision! I have terrible eye sight coupled with the fact that my swim goggles cut off a tremendous amount of my peripheral vision. Don’t assume I can see you. A simple, “Hey, I’m here now too!” can save a lot of exchanged headaches and cuss words.

  2. Michelle March 17, 2014 at 5:57 pm #

    my understanding at our pool is that lap swim is for that–LAP SWIM. and if you are not lap swimming and someone wants to lap swim then you need to get your ass out of that lane and into the smaller play pool where all the kids are. The therapy pool is much warmer and shallower so no one ever plays in the lap pool anymore. Yay for us lap swimmers!

    • toughchik March 18, 2014 at 9:27 am #

      I wish we had a second pool, that sounds like a fantastic solution!

  3. Pam March 17, 2014 at 6:28 pm #

    Makes me effing nuts and I’m a swim newbie. Happens at my gym a lot, especially during peak hours (between 5-8pm). My most recent annoyance was me being in a lane by myself, and then a guy getting in (after getting a thumbs up from me) and proceeding to swim the FLY. Um…what? The lane is barely 3 ft wide as it is, I’m already clearly during repeats swimming free and you think swimming the fly is okay?

    • toughchik March 18, 2014 at 9:28 am #

      Wait until you get someone who does the backstroke! Most of the time, they don’t swim straight!

  4. limpetfan March 18, 2014 at 9:45 am #

    Oh man, I feel like you must belong to my gym! I swim at 5am, and lately there is this influx of older (65+) people using the gym pool for social hour. The pool only has 4 lanes, and they take up 2 of them just chatting. AT 5AM! Makes me feel like I missed a memo!

Leave a Reply

