2014 Team Tough Chik! Meet Betsy, Nikkol and Debbie!

11 Feb
Betsy

Betsy

Name: Betsy S.

Location: NJ

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Running, Reading, Golf, Scrapbooking

2014 Race Plans: I have quite a few 1/2 marathons lined up already, and I’m seriously considering my first FULL marathon…NYC!.

What makes you a Tough Chik? I’m a single mom of 2 little boys.  I don’t want them to feel like they are missing out on anything.  They are my first priority, and most of my time is spent on the soccer (or baseball or basketball field).  It’s hard to squeeze in me time for running…but I wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? ipod

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? “Success isn’t how far you got, but the distance you traveled from where you started.”

Name: Nikkol M.

Location: Scottsdale, AZ

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: running, biking, swimming, rowing and hiking

2014 Race Plans: Arizona Rock n Roll Marathon
Xterra Trail Series
As many Triathlons as I have time for
Tour de Scottsdale
El Tour de Tuscon
Soma half iron distance triathon

What makes you a Tough Chik? I didn’t start running until I was about 29 and have since completed 5 full marathons, countless half-marathons, several bike races, two half iron distance triathlons and several olympic and sprint distance triathlons.  I was diagnosed with Juvenile rheumatoid arthritis (JRA) when I was 11 years old.  I’ve had 7 knee surgeries for it and spend many years on medication.  I was told I would most likely be in a wheel chair by the time I was 30.  Consequently, that was the year I ran my first full marathon.  I am very thankful to have defied the odds and that I am still running and enjoying all life has to offer for as long as I am able.  I am now a personal trainer and I specialize in the elderly population because I know that together we can really improve their quality of life and someday, I’m going to be one of them.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? Armband for my phone

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? I run because I can.

Fun Fact: I was running the San Diego marathon and when I got to the place where they were handing out popsicles, they were all out because the half-marathon had already been through that area.  I actually started to cry.  Every race after that, one of my girl friends meets me at the finish line with a Popsicle.

Debbie

Debbie

Name: Debbie H.

Location: Chicago, IL

Sport of Choice: RUNNING

Hobbies: food, healthy foods, cooking, exercise, spending time with my family, playing board games with my children

2014 Race Plans: In 2013, I ran 15 races, which was the most I’ve ever done in a year.
I’m hoping to surpass that number with a new PR in 1 or more races.

What make you a Tough Chik: I don’t quit!  I try to encourage others.  I’m encouraged by others.  I lead by example!

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? A good sport bra & Nuun

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? Run through head trash!

Fun Fact: My children love animals & we have a ball python, 2 Russian Tortoises, golden doodle, guinea pig and that’s it for NOW!

Leave a Reply

