Meet Team Tough Chik members – Angela, Beth and Christy!

21 Jan
ANGELA

Angela

Name: Angela C – 2nd year member and Ambassador

Location: Homestead, FL

Sport of Choice: Triathlon, Running, and Cycling

Hobbies: Rock climbing, kayaking, the gym, bird watching and hanging out with my amazing family

2014 Race Plans: Superhero Scramble January 12, 2014
Ragnar Keys February 7-8, 2014
Fort Lauderdale A1A Half Marathon February 16, 2014
13.1 Miami Beach   March 2, 2014
Miami Man Speedway Edition Int’l Tri   May 25, 2014
Escape To Miami Olympic Triathlon September 28, 2014
Miami Man Zoo Edition International Tri November 9, 2014

What make you a Tough Chik? I’m tough because I never give up.  I may not be the fastest, but its better to be out there and slow than not at all.  Balancing all the balls is never easy, but at the end of the day, a happy family and a tired body means I was TOUGH ENOUGH 🙂

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? My phone . . . music and a camera to keep me entertained and document my journey!

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? Right now . . . Don’t be a prisoner of your past.  Be the architect of your future.

Fun Fact: The first time I told hubs I wanted to do a triathlon he laughed in my face.  The first time I told him I wanted to run a half marathon he called me crazy.  He now does both 🙂

Beth

Beth

Name: Beth S. – 2nd year member

Location: Brooklyn, NY

Sport of Choice: running

Hobbies: reading, music, theatre, all things Disney, movies, yoga

2014 Race Plans: Confirmed:
January – Walt Disney World Marathon
February – Castaway Cay 5K (informal fun run, but still!!)
July – The Great Alaskan Running Cruise
October – ING Hartford Half Marathon (may change to the full pending training)

Planning but pending lottery and/or timing:
Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run
Broad Street Run
MORE/Fitness Women’s Half
some other Spring/early Summer half

What make you a Tough Chik I stick to it when things get tough? Example: when I ran the RnR Country Music Half in April 2013, it was raining the whole time – anything from a drizzle to an out and out downpour (they almost called the race after one severe lightning flash, but no other came, so they let us continue). I was cold and wet, and all I wanted to do was stop, but I kept going, even though I was limping my way to the end due to cold-related cramps. I finished, and I’m proud of myself for toughing it out!

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? Totally NRR, but my nook

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? “All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.” ~ Walt Disney

Fun Fact: My sister and I have the same birthday. But we’re not twins. 🙂

Christy

Christy

Name: Christy H. – New member

Location: Goshen, IN

Sport of Choice: Running

Hobbies: Running, biking, dancing, reading, listening to country music, singing even though I am off key

2014 Race Plans: The Carmel Marathon in April, want to find one more marathon (not sure which one), St Louis Rock N Roll Half in October, maybe a Tri, and at least 2 or 3 more half’s

What make you a Tough Chik: I am a fighter and always come out of any situation stronger and learn and grow as a person, friend, wife and runner. Runner has taught me how Tough I really am. Because of running I am empowered and I can achieve anything I desire.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? My I Phone

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? I don’t have a favorite but I start each day with one to guide my day

Fun Fact: At the young age of 39 I am a stepgrandma and I love it!

One Response to “Meet Team Tough Chik members – Angela, Beth and Christy!”

  1. Christine January 21, 2014 at 11:25 am #

    I noticed there are no blogs link. Do the Toughies have blogs? Would be nice t follow them on their adventures.

Leave a Reply

