2014 Team Tough Chik – meet Cat, Rebecca and Chrystal

14 Jan
Catharine

Catharine

Name: Catharine M. – 2nd year member

Location: Washington, DC

Sport of Choice: Triathlon

Hobbies:  When I’m not biking, swimming, or running?!? Sitting in my underwear in front of the TV on the sofa. Also skiing, rock climbing, baking, and trying out new restaurants and foods.

2014 Race Plans: RnR USA Half Marathon, South Beach Triathlon, Eagleman HIM, Augusta HIM,  Humbolt Half Marathon

What make you a Tough Chik: I’ve always loved the inclusive nature of the business end of Tough Chiks, that’s what got me to join. It’s pretty hard to find businesses, especially small business that carry anything larger then a Large when it comes to tri gear. So I love to support those that support bigger girls. But what kept me in is the amazing and supportive nature of the the members of Team Tough Chik. I am a Tough Chik because I know I can do antyhing I put my mind too. But I have a team behind me to keep pushing and pulling me along when I stumble.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? IPAD!!! What was my life like before this time sucker?!?

What is your favorite inspirational phrase?  “Luck is a matter of preparation meeting opportunity.”

Fun Fact: I’m a swim coach even though I am one of the slowest swimmers in the masters group I coach. But for some reason it makes me one of the most popular as well.

 

REBECCA BRETON

Name: Rebecca B. – new member

Location: Cumberland Maine

Sport of Choice: RUNNING!!!!!

Hobbies: I don’t consider running a hobby, it’s a part of the fabric of my daily life although I do consider it fun!
I love getting together with friends, attending sporting events, reading, outdoor activities in general and spending time with my family.

2014 Race Plans: My race plans for 2014 have been altered slightly with the new found knowledge that I am pregnant (shhhh not public knowledge yet!)  I ran until my 36th week with my last pregnancy and am hoping to do the same this time.  The current goal is to run a half marathon in April when I will be 6.5 mo along with a bunch of other races leading up to that as well as a comeback half in the fall.  Wish me luck!!

What make you a Tough Chik: Running for two is definitely touch but even beyond that when you have children, a husband and a full time career, carving out time for yourself and the things that are important to you is tough but oh so worth it!

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? Nike Plus watch

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? There will come a time when you can no longer do this, today is NOT that day.

Fun Fact: I am a sign language interpreter 😉

Chrystal

Chrystal

Name: Chrystal V. – new memeber

Location: Kansas

Sport of Choice: Running! I also like biking, yoga, and the gym, but everything I do is to improve my running ability.

Hobbies: Running is my hobby (honestly, running is pretty much what my schedule revolves around) but I also read a lot, draw/paint, and spend a lot of time with my furbabies.

2014 Race Plans: Where to start! In April I’m doing my first Half Marathon, in March I’m doing my second Half Marathon! I also have a handful of races I did in 2013 that are on my list to do again.

What make you a Tough Chik: I don’t believe in giving up.

What is the one gadget you CAN’T live without? GPS!

What is your favorite inspirational phrase? “I don’t quit when I’m tired. I quit when I’m finished.”

Fun Fact: I started running BECAUSE the doctor told me I had “Runner’s Knee”. I decided if I had it, I was going to earn it.

8 Responses to “2014 Team Tough Chik – meet Cat, Rebecca and Chrystal”

  1. Danielle Sterling January 14, 2014 at 9:17 am #

    awesome! rebecca is a total tough chik 🙂

    • Rebecca Breton January 15, 2014 at 11:11 am #

      Awww shucks thanks D

  2. Michelle Bouchard January 15, 2014 at 6:16 am #

    yay! another Maine girl!! We ARE tough chiks!!

  3. Catharine January 15, 2014 at 12:11 pm #

    Lesson Learned – write more on these bio things. O_o I sound totally boring.

    • toughchik January 15, 2014 at 12:42 pm #

      Which is strange, because you are SO NOT BORING! XOXO

  4. Jennifer January 16, 2014 at 9:49 am #

    Hooray! Cheers Toughies!

  5. BionicBarbieTri-ing.blogspot.com January 16, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

    Hi Tough Chiks.. So excited for everyone and to get to know all of you awesome Tough Chiks

  6. Christy Howard January 16, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

    I love reading these can’t wait for more 🙂

Leave a Reply

