Never Forget

11 Sep

We all know where we were 12 years ago today when we heard about the tragedies in NY and PA.  I was on my way to work, living in Dallas, and heard about the first plane crash on the radio.  My brother was living in Manhattan at the time attending SVA (School of Visual Arts).  I was terrified.

A part of me knew that he would be okay, for one – he didn’t wake up before noon….like ever.  He had no business being in the financial district, he was an 18 yr old art student.  But I couldn’t rest until I knew he was ok.  Between my mom, my boyfriend (now husband) and myself – we flooded his phone with calls.

He was fine, in fact he had no idea what had happened.  Many, many other families were not that lucky.  Today, we remember the loss, the heroism, the sadness and the strength of our Nation.

 

United-in-Memory

Leave a Reply

