Saying Goodbye

16 Aug

Last night I said good-bye to one of my closest training partners, I might even consider her a “friend”.  It wasn’t her…it was me.  She did nothing wrong, we just grew apart.  My needs changed and she, well she stayed the same.

Last night I sold Pinky.

Pinky - My road bike

Pinky – My road bike

I am not sure if my non-cyclist friends will understand the relationship between rider and bike, heck maybe even my cyclist friends won’t understand.  Maybe I am a bit strange and oddly attached to my bike?  I do have a tendency to name and personalize inanimate objects.  But in my defense, Pinky and I have been through a lot together.  I developed my love for cycling on Pinky.  She wasn’t my first road bike, but she taught me about climbing out of the saddle, sprinting off a light and the pure joy of a nice, smooth, fast decent.

San Fran to LA Half Way Mark

San Fran to LA
Half Way Mark

Pinky and I rode for San Francisco to Los Angeles

Mission Bay Triathlon

Mission Bay Sprint Triathlon

Pinky and I raced our first Triathlon in 2011

Tour de Palm Springs

Tour de Palm Springs

Pinky and I racing across the desert and battling fierce winds

Sea Otter Classic

Sea Otter Classic

Pinky and I getting our a$$ handed to us at a road race

Ironman 70.3 Texas

Ironman 70.3 Texas

And Pinky and I race our first Half Ironman distance

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pinky and I did land in the hospital (well I went to the ER and she went to the Fire station)

Pinky has been a great bike and true partner in crime.  I am happy to say that I sold her to a friend and she is very excited to get into cycling.  Pinky is just the bike to introduce her to cycling.  I promised not to stalk her and that is was closed adoption.  But I am happy she is going to a good home.  I say this a little tongue and cheek, but as you can see, I have been through a lot with Pinky.  I have been so happy riding her and I have wanted to toss her across the street.  But through it all, she has been there for me.

It is time to open a new chapter with Flash Gordon (AKA Gordy).  Let’s hope he doesn’t end up at the fire station!

Barb's Race

Barb’s Race

Gordy and I eating hills for breakfast…watch out, we are a fierce team!

Thank you Pinky for 5 amazing years of cycling. Love ya!

3 Responses to “Saying Goodbye”

  1. Southern Girl on a Mission August 16, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    Awesome post! Pinky is definitely like my Blue, but it might be another year before Blue gets upgraded to a Superhero! Enjoy your new adventures with Gordy!

  2. mytravelmateblog August 16, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    May she find happiness in the memories of your time together.
    Poor Pinky 😦

  3. jnkmiles.org August 16, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

    My 1st road bike, a Cervelo S2, named Lola is still with me…..I ride her often and we have been to hell and back many times!! I can’t even stand the thought of parting with her!! It has crossed my mind a few times though….My Qunitina Roo TT bike, The Kaptain, is my race horse. I pull him out when duty calls, but most of the time he’s in the stable….watching and waiting!! 🙂
    I love Gordy…and I’ve said it before, but that white tape is freaking awesome!!

Leave a Reply

