My Dirty Little Secret

12 Aug

We all have a few secrets, they may not be very controversial or dark, but we keep them close to our chest.  I am making one of my secrets public today.  I think a lot of my readers will share my secret and I hope by sharing my secret I will empower women (and maybe even a few men) all over.

It is embarrassing and not easy to put out there, but I know that is more common that I think.  It took me years before I approached a doctor and even now, I hide my secret.  Of course, my husband knows about my ailment and loves me the way I am.  I haven’t always been like this, but over the past few years it is getting worse.

It is ugly.  It is not lady-like.  But here it is….my feet.

 

WARNING: IF YOU HATE FEET AND THINK THEY ARE GROSS, STOP READING NOW!!!

 

 

 

 

 

feet 2

My toes are pretty nasty.  My dogs are gross!  And I am lucky that with a coat of nail polish and from afar, they look somewhat presentable.  For you non-runners, let me tell you what is going on.

My big toe nails are damaged (the white spots) from hitting the top of my shoe.  My running shoes are 1 full size larger than me street shoes and it doesn’t matter.  It is just the way I run.  At first I thought I had some weird fungus, but my dermatologist assured me that it is just damaged nails.  The nails are not loose just fugly and you can scrape the top layer off.  Super strange, the nail is not smooth but rough and flaky.  The right one is even sporting a nice bruise in the middle of the nail.

My second toe on the left is black, as you can see.  It is not long for this world.  Again my second toe on each foot is longer than the big and takes a lot of abuse.  It is my stride, not my shoe.  You can not see from the photo, but the top of these toes are callused.  I worked hard for those calluses and not I am not getting blisters because of them.  The second toe on my right foot is loose and I probably could pull it off, but I am way to freaked out to do that.  It is pulling away from the nail bed and one day I will pull off a sock and the nail will go off with it.  As you can tell, I have gone through this before.

My 3rd and 4th toes on each foot are pretty unscathed.

My pinky toes are forming into weird shapes.  I am not really sure what is going on there, but they have become these funky looking appendages.  As you can see, they kind of face out so the nails have become thick and the skin is thicker.  It is like my pinky toes are evolving to deal with the punishment of pounding the cement.

So here it is, what I look like behind the paint!  My poor nails don’t get to breathe very often because I keep polish on them as much as possible.  I know I am not alone here, we work hard for gross feet!

2 Responses to “My Dirty Little Secret”

  1. TriFemme August 12, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    My pinky toes have always looked like that! I think its cool. I look at my feet with a sense of pride because I know they can carry me many miles running, biking, and swimming. Be proud of those feet! Though I’m completely with you that I could never pull off my toe nail even if it was ready to!

  2. Heidi August 12, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    And I think we should all share our “ugly” feet! I took a picture of mine after reading this but didn’t see a way to post it. HAPPY UGLY FEET! 🙂 I’m proud of your post!!

Leave a Reply

