Race Hangover

7 Aug

Barb’s Race was 11 days ago and I have yet to set foot in the gym, sit on my bike, jump in the pool or strap on my running shoes.  I am hungover…race hungover.  I am having a very hard time getting back into the swing of things and this is the point where I typically sign up for my next race to motivate myself to get moving.  But I am officially putting it out there, I am taking a break from racing (expect sprints) for 6 months.  I have been training for over 2 years straight and I my body is begging insisting on a break.  I hurt….everywhere.  It isn’t fun.  I want to go out and just ride, ride with out an agenda.  So I am giving myself a self-imposed “off-season” since they don’t exist in So Cal.

RACE HANGOVER

RACE HANGOVER

But, I am struggling because for over 2 years I have had some form of training plan.  They have ranged from very rigid plans to basic outlines, but I have had some guidance.  Now, I am lost.  I know that I need to work on strength training, especially in my hamstrings, glutes and core. I want to keep up my swimming and running fitness.  I need to get back to yoga because I am so tight and my back is SO sore that I need more stretching and I have failed in that past in “doing it on my own”, plus it will help with the core strength.  I will continue to ride, because I LOVE it and it something that my husband and I do together, plus I have promised him and many other friends to get back on my mt. bike.

So here is what I am looking at:

  1. Strength training
  2. Swimming – preferably 2 x week
  3. Running – preferably 2 x week
  4. Yoga
  5. Road Cycling – preferably 2 x week
  6. Mt. Biking

I am not really sure how I will fit all this in, something is going to have to give.  I really don’t want to be working out 2 x day for my “off-season” but I don’t know how else to make it work.  I guess all of my swims don’t have to be 2000+ yds and runs don’t have to be 45+ min, but it is so hard to pull back. Especially if you are a mile whore like me.  I LOVE to collect miles, junk miles…I don’t care…I love watching that number grow.

What do you do in your “off-season”?  Do you find it hard to come up with an action plan for the off-season?

6 Responses to “Race Hangover”

  1. deirdre August 7, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    I’m off season from Tri’s I have one more run race, RnR in CO. That is where my focus is right now. Though I am keeping my cycling going. I builded a nice base, I don’t want to loose that and still learning techniques. I’m doing bike rallys. Those are really fun. And enjoying the privlalge of multi sports.

  2. TriFemme August 7, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    Shannon-I really think you need to quit focusing on the intensity. Take it all back. You can get in awesome shape without working out more than an hour or two a week. I know because I have done it for 6 months. Granted I was only doing sprints and olys, but still. You need to give your body some rest. So cut back on the distance and intensity. Also you might want to take some time to see what is out there for fun. Frankly, most say you should take at least a month off and just goof off. Do whatever you feel like doing that day for however you long you feel like. Then come back and slowly work back into it. I get that it won’t be easy to just take a month off. But believe, I was forced to take two months off and I’m surprised as I ease back into training how much stronger my body feels. So during your month off focus on what your body needs which sounds like some ST and some yoga. Then just feel in doing what you feel like doing that day. If you have to schedule it fine, but keep the time and intensity DOWN during that. Then slowly build it back up. Also check out the Triathlete’s Bible. Joel gives some great advice of why your body needs time off and how to build back up.

  3. Sonya Morath August 7, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    Completely understandable, I don’t do this to the intensity that you do, nor have I been doing it very long, but once I started, I was all in! I started the bug in Oct. of last year, first race being in April, 6 halves completed, 3 tri’s (sprints) and in training for 2 full marathons by years end, (so total for all events is 8 months!) Some days my body just tells me to stop, even though it’s not a rest day, (so I have an extra beer!) I totally get it… and can’t imagine if I was training for an Ultra or a higher level Tri! I think you have a great plan, it’s hard to stop though…I can’t imagine, it’s all so addicting 😛

  4. Theresa Nelson August 7, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    well you “could” get pregnant….I rode through both of my pregnancies all the way. And you do have a ride coming up this Sunday so you “HAVE” to ride. It is really OK to take some time off.

  5. jnkmiles.org August 10, 2013 at 12:07 pm #

    I think it’s perfectly ok to have no structure for a while….just workout….like the old days!! Pretty soon you’ll be ready for some structure, but we all need a month or so to just “be”…enjoy!!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Ease into Road Racing | The way I Run my life - August 14, 2013

    […] Race Hangover (toughchik.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

