Compete to Complete

8 Jul

When I signed up for Barb’s Race, I planned on it being my redemption race.  Ironman 70.3 Texas was a bit of a disappointment due to a terrible cold and a training session plagued with injuries.

Here I am, 3 weeks out and yet again I have got from a race were I am competing, to a race I am praying on completing.  I haven’t been able to run in 3 weeks!  I am hoping to go on a short run today to try out the ankle.  I have been cycling and swimming, but due to the ankle, no bricks.

Last week I got the keys to my new home (YAY!), which needs a TON of work (BOO!).  I have spent the past 4 days painting 6-8 hours/day.  I am exhausted.  My neck and shoulder are killing me.  Not exactly how you want to enter the home stretch of training.  Not mention that I am moving this week.  Heavy lifting, packing, etc.  Cross training??

UGH, another race that won’t go the way I planned.  I guess that is life.  My goal is to just be able to race a 70.3 injury-free and in good health.  Is that too much to ask?

I guess I better go pack something…

Leave a Reply

