Have I been bamboozled?

3 Jul

Yesterday was my yearly appointment with my endocrinologist.  I have been hypothyroid (my thyroid doesn’t produce enough T4 hormone) for 15 years and it is not a big deal.  After the hundreds of test to figure out I was hypo in college, it has been pretty much maintenance.  I go to a lab, give them some blood, a week later go to the doc, she looks me over and writes me a script for a year’s worth of Synthroid (synthetic T4 hormone).

Over the 15 years I have fluctuated very little and have been on the same dose for about 5 years.  When I moved to the OC and found a new dr, as you do when you move.  This is my 3rd year here and my 3rd visit with this doctor.  Last year she asked me about how I was diagnosed.  Heck, I can’t remember what I ate yesterday let alone remember what started me down this path.  She, in passing, mentioned that she was just curious because thyroid disorders are SO hard to diagnose and I was young (i.e. my hormones might have been out of wack, but not b/c of the thyroid).

So yesterday when we met, she mentioned again that she was very curious to see if I was really even hypothyroid.  I am so consistent (my weight was even the same, down to the oz) and she said “we are good, but not THAT good.”  She gave me 2 blood work forms, one for next year and one if I wanted to test myself.  She said if I felt up to it, I could stop taking my Synthroid for 4 weeks and test my levels once again.

What would happen?  Either nothing or utter chaos.  No biggie, right?  If I am not hypo, then nothing will happen and I have been taking synthetic hormones for 15 years for no reason.  If I am hypo, then I could experience any or all of the following symptoms…

  • Changes in the menstrual cycle
  • Constipation
  • Depression
  • Dry hair and hair loss
  • Dry skin
  • Fatigue
  • Greater sensitivity to cold
  • Slow heart rate
  • Swelling of the thyroid gland (goiter)
  • Unexplained weight gain or difficulty losing weight
  • Carpal tunnel syndrome

Awesome right?

For the time being, I am going to continue my meds until after I move and my race.  Because IF I am Hypo, I don’t need any of above on top of what is already going on.

There are no negative side effects for taking the “right” amount of Synthroid.  As long as I am not taking too much (which I am not, because of my blood work) then I am fine.  It is just the expense of the medication, doctors appointments, blood work, etc.

I feel like I am playing Russian Roulette with my body.  Pretty crazy!

On another note…

Happy 4th Toughies!  We are having a big sale at ToughChik.comGo HERE for the details!

3 Responses to “Have I been bamboozled?”

  1. tootallfritz July 3, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    Wow, that’s a lot to think about. I would definitely try to stop, just to see but yes, after you get thru a few of the big things that you have on your plate. Scary but you don’t want to keep pumping hormones into your body if you don’t need them! Good luck & keep us posted!

  2. Gigi July 3, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    As a person who has been hyper thyroid and then hypothyroid and gone through 2 rounds of radioactive iodine treatments I would never want to stop taking my meds…..kind of if it is not broke don’t fix it. In my opinion if you were NOT hypothyroid and you ARE taking synthroid your levels would be out of whack and you would seem hyperthyroid in your lab work because you would have too much T4.

  3. taylorlisa43 July 3, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    I highly recommend reading any book written by Dr Mark Hyman. HE is THE guy when it comes to dealing with thyroid issues as well as other areas. Good health wishes to you!

Leave a Reply

