Tough Chik Tuesday – Meet Debbie, Kimberly & Melissa!!!

18 Jun
Debbie

Debbie

Name: Debbie

Location: Liverpool, NY (suburb of Syracuse)

Sport of Choice: Running, triathlon, resistance training

2013 Race Plans: February: Lake Effect Half Marathon; May: Mountain Goat 10 mile run; June: run portion of the Syracuse 70.3 relay; July: Boilermaker 15K, Save the River 10K; August: River Rat Sprint Triathlon; October: Empire State Half Marathon; various fall and holiday 5Ks after that

What makes you a Tough Chik: I doubt my abilities all the time, but I just push through them because I know its all in my head.  Also, finding time to train while working 3 part time jobs, building a crafting business, and become a certified personal trainer and group exercise instructor makes me a Tough Chik!

If you had a super power, what would it be? I would make people be kind to each other because there’s so much hate in the world whether its behind the wheel, who your political party is, etc.

Fun Fact: I have a goal to be working on my own from home by the end of the calendar year…hopefully sooner!

Blog URL: I’m way behind on my blogging, but here it is:  http://mommystri-ing.blogspot.com/

Kimberly

Kimberly

Name: Kimberly

Location: Friendsville, TN

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: Knoxville Marathon relay, Ragnar Relay -Key West, and hopefully a fall marathon (would be my 2nd). I’ll also do a half marathon (or a few) and some local small races.

What makes you a Tough Chik: My weight loss running journey. I started this gig 4  years ago 90 lbs heavier running my first 5k in just under 49 minutes. I’m now a marathoner (albeit a slow one) but making huge strides daily in my journey to being a better runner (and healthier overall) all while juggling being a full time working mom of 2.

If you had a super power, what would it be? To wiggle my nose, stomp my feet and have a 100% clean house in 2 seconds flat.

Blog URL:  http://KimertRuns.blogspot.com

Melissa

Melissa

Name: Melissa

Location: San Diego

Sport of Choice: Running, Weight Training

2013 Race Plans: January: Tinkerbell Half Marathon

February: Dirty Girl Mud Run, Mermaid Series Half Marathon, Lady Speed Stick Half Marathon

March: San Diego Half Marathon, Hot Chocolate 15k

April: Hollywood Half Marathon and depending on my cloning abilities, I will be running at least one of these: La Jolla Half Marathon / Inaugural Nike Half Marathon in DC

May: Safari Half Marathon

August: America’s Finest City Half Marathon

October: Nike Women’s Marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: What makes me a Tough Chik? Have you seen my race schedule?!? I am a firm believer in making choices, not excuses. I am turning 40 this year and I’m excited to be a stronger, faster, TOUGHer Chik than ever!

There has always been a “legitimate” reason for me to take the easy way out. I could blame a full schedule, raising teenagers, asthma, anemia, or a variety of other reasons, but we all get 24 hours a day and we make time for what we value. I value life, family, and those that I can influence toward healthier living.

If you had a super power, what would it be? My daughter suggested reading minds, and my husband informed her that I already have that ability.

My son suggested the ability to clone myself, which might be nice when multiple races are on the same calendar day, but then he elaborated: You could go shopping, run to the bank, pick us up from school, and have one of you just relaxing. That made me too tired to want to clone myself.

Fun Fact: Heading into my 40th year, my nickname is now Guns amongst my running friends. More specifically, let me know if you’d ever like to meet “Vicious” and “Delicious.” I absolutely LOVE how crazy fitness freaks are.

Blog URL: http://themelissachronicles.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

