Welcome Toughies Gina, Nancy and Deihdra! 3 awesome women and true TOUGH CHIKs!

11 Jun
Gina

Gina

 

Name: Gina

Location: Sumrall, MS

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: MTB: Long Beach Carnival Classic Half Marathon, Rock n Roll New Orleans Marathon, Crescent City Classic 10k, Jazz Half Marathon and several 5ks

What makes you a Tough Chik: I think that being a mom that has 5 kids (even though some are older and some are small) makes any woman tough! This also means that with so much going on, I have to train when I can. That usually means that I’m on the treadmill at 9:30 at night or I’m out doing my long runs with a headlight on. (*Safety first – if it’s dark, my husband goes with me while our older kids watch the younger ones.)

I also think that making the decision to completely change my life after my 3 yr old daughter was born in 2009 makes me pretty tough. It wasn’t easy. I’d been overweight for a while and stuck in the state of mind that I was just going to be that way for the rest of my life. I finally decided that things COULD change because I was in control of what I ate and what I did. I started walking and pushing her in a stroller. My oldest daughter would come sometimes and when she did, I would try jogging ahead a few feet. I don’t know what it was that had sparked inside of me to keep trying every time we went for a walk but it was there and it wasn’t going away. On February 8, 2010, I ran a complete 5k distances without stopping. It fueled the fire in me and I knew that things weren’t going to be the same anymore. Since then, I’ve lost 76 pounds, I’ve run tons of 5ks, 10ks, 5 half marathons, 1 full and I’m in training for my 2nd that will be February 24, 2013. “Every accomplishment starts with the decision to try.” – Gail Devers, Olympic Hurdler    

If you had a super power, what would it be? To be able to run like The Flash, of course. 🙂  Can you imagine how much I’d get done??

Fun Fact: I’m in the Jan/Feb 2013 issue of Women’s Running Magazine in the Women Who Move section. MSN/Fitbie filmed me in December for their Everyday Champions series. It was released January 18, 2013.

Also, my feet are so big that I have to order men’s size 11 running shoes. I add pink laces and wear them proudly!   

Blog URL: www.slowisthenewfast.com

 

Nancy

Nancy

Name: Nancy…aka Fancy Nancy

Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Sport of Choice: running, spinning, softball

2013 Race Plans: This year I am gunning for the big one…the full marathon!  I am also shooting for at least 13 races this year with most of them being half marathons.  I can’t wait to see what 2013 brings!

What makes you a Tough Chik: What makes me a tough chik?  I’m up before dawn to squeeze in as many miles as possible before my family starts their day.  Being a mom to a toddler and a newborn, time is worth the same as gold but not running is not an option!  Sure my muscles hurt and my lungs are burning but being a healthy example of a tough girl is a perfect life for me!

If you had a super power, what would it be? I would love to be able to fly….imagine how much faster I could get around!!! I am fluent in Spanish, which many friends and coworkers call my super power since my students can’t get away with anything!!

Fun Fact: I’m pretty much your average gal but I would say something quirky about me is that from the moment the air begins to warm, I NEED to be at the beach!  I have lived all my life within 2 miles of the shore.  It is my calming place, my fun place, and the place of so many memories! I’m so excited to have two beach bum girls to share it with!

Blog URL: http://www.littlefancynancy.blogspot.com

 

Deihdra

Deihdra

 

Name: Deihdra

Location: Glen Rock, NJ

Sport of Choice: Triathlon

2013 Race Plans: Nike Women’s Half DC, Rev3 Quassy OLY, Philadelphia TRI Sprint, Rev3 South Carolina, NJ State Triathlon, West Point TRI and a few 5ks with my son!

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’ve never been an athlete in my entire life but found triathlon 3 years ago and am hooked.  I try very hard to not come in last – I’m often discouraged but keep signing up for races and scaring myself into training for them!

If you had a super power, what would it be? I would be a fast, graceful, beautiful runner and sing like Lea Michele (although not sure that’s a super power!).

Fun Fact: I’d never learned to swim until 3 years ago to do triathlon.  I’ve always loved the water but never knew how to actually swim and while I’m very slow – I can get to the end of the swim without much issue.

Blog URL: http://deihdratri.blogspot.com/

One Response to “Welcome Toughies Gina, Nancy and Deihdra! 3 awesome women and true TOUGH CHIKs!”

  1. tootallfritz June 11, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    Great group of INSPIRING toughies!!

Leave a Reply

