Tough Chik Tuesday! Meet Veronica, Lisa and Theresa!

4 Jun

veronica-poloroid

Name: Veronica

Location: Pasadena, CA

Sport of Choice: MTB, Muay Thai Kickboxing and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

2013 Race Plans: MTB: Fontana Winter Series

MTB: USC Cup West

What makes you a Tough Chik: I really like sports that challenges you, both mentally and physically.

If you had a super power, what would it be? I’d be super strong.

Fun Fact: I have a Mustang from 1966, and the only time I sing is when I’m in this car.

I like photography and my favorite lens is a homemade tilt-shift lens made from an old 50 mm lens and a shower head. Works great!

Blog URL: http://veronicablog.com/

 

Lisa

Lisa

Name: Lisa

Location: Palos Park, IL

Sport of Choice: Running, Tennis

2013 Race Plans: First Midwest Bank Half Marathon, Muddy Monk Trail Races, Chicago Police Department Run to Remember, Get Your Rear in Gear, Run Like a Mother and Warrior Dash. May do a full marathon.  Also run as Race Guard for CARA 10 Miler and Chicago Rock n Roll 1/2 Marathon.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am really new to running.  My New Year Resolution last year was to train and run a half marathon.  I am tough because I completed that.  I started running to do something for myself.  I am a stay at home Mom ,and my answer to “What’s new ?” always involved news about my children.  I seemed to be in a rut.  Now my answer to that question is usually about a race I just completed or am training for.  I feel I have set a good example for my daughters. I have met so many nice runners who inspire me to do more.

If you had a super power, what would it be? I would love the power to communicate with the spirits, like Theresa Caputo, the Long Island Medium.

Fun Fact: I used to compete in Hula Hoop Contests when I was younger.  Was state runner up for two years in a row.  Even did it for a talent show in my early twenties when I went on a Carnival Cruise!

Theresa

Name: Theresa

Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Sport of Choice: Road Cycling – but I also swim and run

2013 Race Plans: Surf City 1/2 Marathon

Los Alamitos Race on the Base

Encinitas Tri

Redondo Beach Tri

Newport Beach Tri

Some Olympic Tri TBD

What makes you a Tough Chik: Wanting to be a good example for my adult daughters and coaching other middle age ladies to learn what a joy it is to ride road bikes and get fit.  My husband and I “made” our daughters ride from infancy through junior high (in a trailer and on the back of tandems).  After a 10 plus-year hiatus for her, this year my 25-year-old decided that riding thing isn’t too bad and joined us on the Annual Amtrak Century in September.  Picture is she and I riding together.  She would be a tough chik for 2013 as well if she wasn’t spending the year in New Zealand.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Be able to change a flat in under 1 minute.  I’m not bad at it, because I’m patient and take my time, but would be cool if it was super fast.

 

 

Leave a Reply

