Introducing Jennifer, Stacie and Rebecca! Welcome to Team Tough Chik!

28 May

 

Jennifer

Jennifer

Name: Jennifer

Location: Western New York Southerntier

Sport of Choice: Marathon, Triathlon

2013 Race Plans: Nothing concrete, but I want to get back to my distance racing (I miss the time to myself the training gives me,) so absolutely a half marathon (maybe two) looking at Virginia Beach Shamrock in March, and Rochester MVP in September. For the summer, two sprint distance triathlons. Probably Musselman again, and maybe A Tri In The Buff or Owascoman?!

Plenty of local(ish) 5ks and 10ks.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am a Tough Chik because ~ I have Fibromyalgia. I have been combating the symptoms(chronic fatigue and pain) and related conditions of this  auto-immune disorder with exercise and diet. I began with marathoning (a year prior to my 35th birthday, as a gift to myself) to give me a goal, and keep me on track. Because I am very competitive and driven, the training provides a “no excuses” routine for me. Tri-ing was the next step in my journey. I wanted my exercise plan to be more eclectic and wished for the challenge. It has been the right choice. I am more balanced, and recover more quickly. The health, strength, and confidence it gives me are immeasurable. The hardest part about training for the race is finding the time to get all the training in. I am a Mom of two wonderful little girls (6 and 9), a home daycare provider, a Girl Scout leader/trainer, and a soccer coach. On “bad” days with my condition, I find the ability to push through it, because I am tenacious. I have a separate planner with my scheduled trainings in it. I work with my family’s schedule, and my work/volunteer schedule to get each days training done, whenever I can. Sometimes this means getting up early, sometimes it means staying up later, often times it means sacrifice, but the payoff is worth it. So far I have completed several 5ks, 8ks, 10ks, 3 half marathons, a 14 mile trail race, 3 full marathons, a duathlon, 3 triathlons, and 3 obstacle style mud runs. Every race has helped me feel inspired (by racers, especially ones meeting challenges, and my own desire to overcome my obstacle,) hopeful (I usually get a little emotional,) and accomplished (the culmination of all the hard work.) I am jazzed for the rest of the day (and sometimes into the next week!) In 2012 I challenged myself to go further ~ Because my “good months” are March – September, I made my goal to do 2 races each month, with a total of 14 for the 7 month period. They include ~ 5ks, a 21k bike ride, a 33 mile bike ride, a duathlon, 2 triathlons, 2 mud/obstacle runs, and a color run. I did 16 races in all. My motto is, “Because today I can.” Do what you are able to, knowing that you can do it, the reward is immeasurable. I do this so I can be a better person, mother, and woman, I am proud to call myself a marathoner, a triathlete, and one tough mama!!

If you had a super power, what would it be? This is a good one…I thought a long time. The ability to heal others and myself quickly. I know, not very Marvel Comics, but it’s what I would want.

Fun Fact: I love to cook!!! I wanted to open a Lunchette in the college town down the road called Simply Soups (serving artisan breads with the daily specials.)

Blog URL: http://justjennifertri-ing.blogspot.com/

 

Stacie

Stacie

Name: Stacie

Location: Chehalis, WA

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: I’m setting a goal to run 15 half marathons.  I would love to break the 2 hour mark.  If training goes well then my ultimate plan is to run the Portland Marathon for the 5th time.  I really want to set a marathon PR.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I have completed 4 marathons, 16 half marathons, an ultra, a sprint-tri, all after losing 80+ pounds.  I have battled a few knee issues and was finally coming back strong.  Just had to suffer through sitting out my first race ever after fracturing my left foot in two places and tearing a tendon(not running related).  I refuse to start completely over so I’m doing arm weights, ab work, and other misc. exercises until I am able to start running again.

If you had a super power, what would it be? I’d love to be able to fly or run really fast 🙂

Fun Fact: I love thunder & lightning storms.  I’m super excited to be a part of Team Tough Chik 2013

Blog URL: “IMPOSSIBLE IS NOTHING” http://stacie615.blogspot.com/

REBECCA REYNOLDS

Name: Rebecca

Location: Hickory, NC

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: Taking on my first full in 2013!  Shamrock in March!  After that, planning on the Diva Half in Myrtle Beach, Richmond Half in Richmond and …… still filling in the rest of the year.  It will be epic!

What makes you a Tough Chik: This is a hard one, I suspect for many of us to answer.  I guess at the end of the day, what makes me tough, is that I keep going.  I started running just over 2 years ago and have battled injuries along the way as most anyone in running has.  I kept going.  Between regular ‘use’ injuries from running, falling (I’m not the most graceful by far!), running ailments (you know…chafing, wrong clothes, wrong shoes, the pieces we don’t talk about…. but we all know what those are ha ha), I’ve kept going.  I’m super excited to be taking on my first full next year in 2013!  Nervous, but super excited!  Can’t wait to see what 2013 has to offer! Bring it!

If you had a super power, what would it be? If I had a super power…I would love to be able to make people laugh…. randomly.  Like when you look at someone and I could think something, and then they would laugh.  Laughter heals so much pain!!

Fun Fact: Can’t wait to get my next tattoo after my full!

Leave a Reply

