3 West Coast Toughies for ya! Meet Laura, Jamie and Marie!!!

14 May
Laura

Laura

Name: Laura

Location: Orange County, CA

Sport of Choice: Triathlon, Mountain Biking, Running, Adventure Races, Yoga, Hiking

2013 Race Plans: I’m still putting together my race calendar, but so far I’m hoping to do the following: San Diego Hot Chocolate Run, So Cal Ragnar, Ride for Rwanda 25 mile mountain biking event, Orange County Triathlon (my first Olympic distance!), San Diego Tri Rock olympic distance tri…plus a number of 5k, 10k races and one or two half marathons.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I love this question!  I AM a Tough Chik because I choose to be tough.  I am a Tough Chik because I persevere — I finish what I start.  I LOVE a challenge, and I believe that going beyond your comfort zone makes you tough.  At this point in  my life, I am doing things I NEVER imagined myself doing.  Triathlons? I never swam real freestyle as a kid.  Mountain biking?  I was the kid who never wanted a bike. Half Marathons? Who me?  Now I LOVE all of it!

If you had a super power, what would it be? If I had a superpower, it would be to spread happiness and hope throughout the world.  Everyone deserves to be happy and hopeful throughout their life.

Fun Fact: I was born in Okinawa which is off the coast of Japan.  No one had ever heard of it until the Karate Kid movies came out.

Blog URL: (still working on it!)

Jamie

Jamie

Name: Jamie

Location: Tucson, Arizona

Sport of Choice: Running, Triathlon

2013 Race Plans: Rock ‘n’ Roll Arizona Marathon (my first marathon!), Mt. Lemmon Half Marathon, Disneyland Half Marathon, Tucson Triathlon, Firecracker Triathlon…and as the year goes on, so will my list lol.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’m ready to try anything! I’m always on the lookout for new adventures and experiences. I’m that girl who wants to try everything, at least once!!

If you had a super power, what would it be? I would love to have telekinesis. It just sounds like way too much fun. 🙂

Fun Fact: I’m a HUGE sci-fi nerd!

Blog URL: heatrunner.blogspot.com

marie-poloroid

Name: Marie

Location: Henderson, NV

Sport of Choice: Triathlon

2013 Race Plans: Leadman 125 Triathlon – April 13, 2013 – Tempe, AZ

LV10K 2.4 mile swim – May 18, 2013 – Boulder City, NV

Ironman Arizona – November 17, 2013

What makes you a Tough Chik: I have three children, one grandchild.  A loving husband of 20 years who supports me in all I do.  I work as a Registered Nurse.  My first sprint triathlon was in 2009 and next year I will race my first Ironman in Arizona with my fellow Tough Chik Angela Dimaya.

If you had a super power, what would it be? The power of healing.

Fun Fact: I’m a diehard Detroit Tigers / Red Wings fan.

Leave a Reply

