Meet Lynn, Trish and Danielle! 3 Amazing Toughies!!!

15 Apr

Lynn-poloroid

Name: Lynn

Location: Vista, CA

Sport of Choice: running and triathlon

2013 Race Plans: Carlsbad 1/2 marathon, San Dieguito 1/2 marathon, Desert Triathlon Int’l distance

What makes you a Tough Chik: I keep at it (running, triathlon) even though I’m a firm middle of the packer. Been through breast cancer this year, too and the trifecta (chemo, surgery and radiation) of treatment.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Turn back time. 1) Have the wisdom I have now at my age transferred to my younger self. I’d tell her a thing or two. 2) Have the people who’ve passed be here once again.

Fun Fact: I didn’t start running or competing in triathlon until my late 40s. Finished an Ironman at 50. My husband calls me Tri-bunny.

Trish

Trish

Name: Trish

Location: Kathleen, GA

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: Atlanta Hot Chocolate 15K, Museum of Aviation half marathon, Atlanta Publix Marathon March 17, Army 10 miler fall of 13

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’m a full time working mom of 3, who has been on Active Duty for 19 years.  I proudly serve my country and take care of my precious family.  I work hard to maintain balance and running helps keep me sane.  I finished my first half marathon on my 3rd child’s, 1st Birthday and thought I had met my goals.  My enthusiasm has been rejuvenated by a dear college friend and we finished my second and her first half marathon together recently in Little Rock.

If you had a super power, what would it be? To have super speed, not for running, but for cleaning the house.

Fun Fact: I was a river raft guide on the American River one summer.

Danielle

Danielle

Name: Danielle

Location: North Babylon, New York

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: I am signed up to run two marathons at the end of 2012, the Harrisburg Marathon 11/11/12 and the Brooklyn Marathon 11/18/12. I am also signed up for the Allstate 13.1 Half Marathon in March, in Queens, New York and the Diva Half  Marathon in October. I will participating in the Long Island Parks Winter Run Series, and the Parks Summer Run Series. I look for races every weekend that I am free, just to keep running. I have also signed up for the Warrior Dash in Windham, New York.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I started my adventure as a runner only 16 months ago on a whim. I was signed up to do a 5k with some friends, and I figured we would just walk it. I have a friend who used to live across the country who is an avid runner and I was talk to her before the race and she suggested I try to run the race instead of walking it. She also dangled the Diva half and asked if she could stay with me if she signed up for that. I said definitely and actually signed up for that race even before completing my first 5k. Well, the day of the 5k, I decided to run the entire race. I never thought I would finish, but loved the feeling of running. I knew that I needed to be serious if I was going to run that 13.1 miles of the Diva. I started signing up for races weekend and after weekend. First 5ks, then some 10ks, and when it was time for the Diva I was completely ready to run. I was so pleased with my time that I decided to continue running half marathons. This past summer I had it in my mind to complete a full marathon. Some thought I was crazy, 26.2 miles is FAR they would say. I knew that I could do it as long as I kept my head in it. It came down to a last minute decision, the Rockaway Marathon was the Saturday after the Diva Half 2012. I felt great after the half and felt ready for the full, so I signed up for it. I am so glad that I did. I completed my very first full marathon on 10/13/12 in Rockaway Beach, New York in 5:03. I am so happy that this was my first marathon. I now know exactly how far I can push my body. This made me a Tough Chik because I never thought I would ever run, not even a mile, I am looking forward to seeing what else I can do!

If you had a super power, what would it be? If I had a super power I think I would like to be able to heal injuries. I would love to be able to heal those who need it the most. Also, running sometimes comes with injuries, I have had some, and I have friends who have had some. If I could heal them, then we could be back on the road running sooner.

Fun Fact: I have run over 40 races in the 16 months I have been running and I have never worn any of the race shirts. I am saving them so that someday I can have a fellow racing buddy make a race quilt for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

