Meet Melissa, Joyelle and Kristina!

26 Mar

 

Melissa

Melissa

Name: Melissa

Location: San Diego

Sport of Choice: Running, Weight Training

2013 Race Plans: January: Tinkerbell Half Marathon

February: Dirty Girl Mud Run, Mermaid Series Half Marathon, Lady Speed Stick Half Marathon

March: San Diego Half Marathon, Hot Chocolate 15k

April: Hollywood Half Marathon and depending on my cloning abilities, I will be running at least one of these: La Jolla Half Marathon / Inaugural Nike Half Marathon in DC

May: Safari Half Marathon

August: America’s Finest City Half Marathon

October: Nike Women’s Marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: What makes me a Tough Chik? Have you seen my race schedule?!? I am a firm believer in making choices, not excuses. I am turning 40 this year and I’m excited to be a stronger, faster, TOUGHer Chik than ever!

There has always been a “legitimate” reason for me to take the easy way out. I could blame a full schedule, raising teenagers, asthma, anemia, or a variety of other reasons, but we all get 24 hours a day and we make time for what we value. I value life, family, and those that I can influence toward healthier living.

If you had a super power, what would it be? My daughter suggested reading minds, and my husband informed her that I already have that ability.

My son suggested the ability to clone myself, which might be nice when multiple races are on the same calendar day, but then he elaborated: You could go shopping, run to the bank, pick us up from school, and have one of you just relaxing. That made me too tired to want to clone myself.

Fun Fact: Heading into my 40th year, my nickname is now Guns amongst my running friends. More specifically, let me know if you’d ever like to meet “Vicious” and “Delicious.” I absolutely LOVE how crazy fitness freaks are.

Blog URL: MelissaRunningIt.com

 

Joyelle

Joyelle

Name: Joyelle

Location: New Lenox, IL

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: Winter Runnerland Virtual Half, Palos Half, Soldier Field 10, various virtual races, most likely the Joliet Park District Run 3 series, maybe Chicago Half & maybe Chicago Marathon (1st ever marathon).  I try to run/do at least 1 race a month

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am very persistent and I push myself in all my running & workouts.  I push beyond what I think I can do, only to find out what I’m really actually capable of.  I have also started running with a friend who isn’t as fast and that is sometimes a challenge, but just as rewarding!

If you had a super power, what would it be? To create more time – or to instantly clean my house

Fun Fact: It doesn’t take much to talk me into a race (not sure if that’s fun or not?!)

 

Kristina-poloroid

Name: Kristina

Location: Columbia, SC

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: Run Like A Diva – Myrtle Beach, SC, April 28, 2013

Rock N Roll Marathon – Virginia Beach, VA, September 1, 2013

Rock N Roll Marathon – Savannah, GA, November 9, 2013

What makes you a Tough Chik: I started running (at the time – my speed made it barely fast walking) to improve my health…diabetes and high blood pressure were becoming an issue.  Since then, the diseases have disappeared, half of me has disappeared, and I love to run.  Troubles in front of me are simply challenges to be overcome.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Ability to wiggle my nose and be in a different place and time.

Fun Fact: I wear gloves when I run unless the temperature is at least 70 degrees.

One Response to “Meet Melissa, Joyelle and Kristina!”

  1. tootallfritz March 26, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    Yay, Joyelle!!! Gett’em, Girl!!

Leave a Reply

