Meet Jill, Jody & Kimberly!

19 Mar

 

Jill

Jill

Name: Jill (Run Jilly Bean)

Location: Richmond, VA

Sport of Choice: Running, and try to cycle

2013 Race Plans: March – Shamrock Half Marathon (VA Beach) – 1st half***

April – Monument 10k (Richmond, VA) & maybe TarHeel 10 Miler (Chapel Hill, NC)

More to come after I see how the first races go. I would like to do a Fall Sprint Triathlon.

What makes you a Tough Chik: Three years ago, I convinced 3 friends to join a beginner mom’s running group to run a local 10k. We all needed to do something good just for us, not as mom, wife, employee, etc. They all caught the running bug, and I caught ITBS due to poor form and too much too fast.  But I continued to battle running through 2 more years.  They took off and conquered half marathons, and I couldn’t be more proud of them.

I have finally kicked the ITB bug through gait retraining, strengthening, foam rolling, and smart running.  I feel like any sane person would have long given up. But I love the joy and ease you get from running … and even better, the camaraderie between women.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Since my five year already thinks I can read minds (because I stop him constantly from getting in trouble), I would pick super speed to get through my work faster so I can spend more time with my family and friends.

Fun Fact: I am a die-hard TarHeel fan displaced in Virginia, and I am already diligently working to brainwash my child into loving UNC as much as I do.

Blog URL: http://runjillybean.blogspot.com

 

jody-poloroid

 

Name: Jody

Location: Big Bear City, CA

Sport of Choice: Triathlon, Biking, Swimming

2013 Race Plans: IronGirl Las Vegas

Snow Shoe the Bear

Paddlefest

Tour de Big Bear

Endure the Bear-trail run

Camp Pendleton Mud Run

Maybe a few others…

What makes you a Tough Chik: As nervous as I get I still try new adventures… new races… new things!

If you had a super power, what would it be? uuuummmm…. so many to choose from.

Fun Fact: I would like to try a equestrian biathlon at some point with my horse.

Kimberly

Kimberly

Name: Kimberly

Location: Friendsville, TN

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: Knoxville Marathon relay, Ragnar Relay -Key West, and hopefully a fall marathon (would be my 2nd). I’ll also do a half marathon (or a few) and some local small races.

What makes you a Tough Chik: My weight loss running journey. I started this gig 4  years ago 90 lbs heavier running my first 5k in just under 49 minutes. I’m now a marathoner (albeit a slow one) but making huge strides daily in my journey to being a better runner (and healthier overall) all while juggling being a full time working mom of 2.

If you had a super power, what would it be? To wiggle my nose, stomp my feet and have a 100% clean house in 2 seconds flat.

Blog URL: http://anotherrunningmom.com

 

Leave a Reply

