IMTX 70.3 Week 15

18 Mar

HIM TX Training Week 15

Swim: 5300 yds (2700 yds, 2600 yds)

Run: 17 miles (8 mile, 3 miles and 6 miles)

Cycle: 81 miles (47 miles, 34 miles)

6 workouts scheduled – 6 completed

Time – 12:11

SWIM – I am not fast, but I am SOOO consistent. I swim one speed, but the good news is that I can swim that speed for an extended period of time.  I am confident about the swim portion.  I will not win or break any records, but I will make it through and have enough energy to finish the race.  YAY!

BIKE – This week I had a bike ride on the schedule and I was able to get outside and ride.  It was great!  Most of my rides have been on the trainer or followed by a run, so it was great to ride.  It is going to be so interesting to see how I do on the bike.  I just don’t get a chance to ride flat roads.  The plus side, is I am stronger because I have to climb, but the negative is I get to coast downhill too!  I added a speed box to my bike (a box that straps to your top tube) and that will encourage me to eat on the bike.  I won’t have to dig around in my back pocket.  I am still working on drinking more on the bike.  I have to force myself to drink, it is not something that comes naturally, but I know if I don’t I will pay for it on the run.

RUN – Well, the run sucks.  It just does.  I wish, oh how I wish, I could love to run…but I does not come easy, especially after a bike ride!  I went on a long run this week and it was a wake up call.  After about 5 miles, I had to start walking.  Yes, it was hot and yes, it was up hill, but it was brutal.  If I can’t run 8 miles with fresh legs, there ain’t no way I am going to be able to run 13 on fatigued legs.  So, I will walk.  I will be okay with walking.  From what I hear, I will not be alone.  On the upside, I have been able to get Gu down while I am running without it upsetting my stomach.  Little wins!

I am hungry, tired and grumpy.  If you cross me and I am not lovely, please excuse me…I have Tri-brain.  I told my husband that we can hang out in April and that I promise I will be more fun to be around! Ha! Ha!

19 DAYS!  WOO HOO!

2 Responses to “IMTX 70.3 Week 15”

  1. TriFemme March 18, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    You are doing fantastic!! Way to go! Very proud of you for turning in some good workouts!

  2. PDX Running Chick March 18, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    You are inspiring! Way to get it done!

Leave a Reply

