IM TX 70.3 Week 14

11 Mar

HIM TX Training Week 14

Swim: 5350 yds (2350 yds, 3000 yds)

Run: 11.5 miles (5.5 mile, 6 miles)

Cycle: 59.8 miles (19.8 miles, 40 miles)

6 workouts scheduled – 5 completed, time – 8:35 (I skipped the long run of the week – YAY  I listened to my body!!)

Swim: I had 2 decent swims this week.  My long swim (3000 yds) was good, but the last 200-300 yds or so, my shoulder started to ache.  I am feeling pretty confident on my swim abilities.  I am not fast, but I will get through without any issues.

Bike: My 19.8 ride was on the trainer and pretty boring.  I am taking it easy and I have cut way back on mileage.  I am hoping that this will let me heal a little without causing a full out panic attack. Ha ha ha.

Run: I did an easy 5.5 mile run on the TM this week and I did feel some discomfort in my hips but I didn’t have a real problem running.  Actually the longer I was on the TM, the better I felt.  I haven’t done a “long” run (over 6 miles) in a very long time, so I am hoping that once my hips warm up, they will be okay-er.

Brick: I was so, so, SO lucky to have my friend and fellow TTC member, Laura, join me for the first lap of my brick this week.  It was a 20 mile ride followed by a 3 mile run and I repeated the lap.  So, 2 laps total.  It is SO much more fun to have some company, it really honestly made this workout so much more fun.  And Laura is a much stronger runner, so I was good to have that push.  I felt SO much better after this brick than I did last week.  Yes, the distance was shorter and maybe that is where I need to be right now.  Don’t get me wrong, it was hard but I left feeling I could do more if I had too and not completely defeated.  That was a nice change.  I had a Garmin FAIL (I swear, I can not work the Auto Mulitsport function to save my life!) so I have to guess on the time a distance.  Maybe this week I will get it right!  New goal – Learn to work Garmin!

This week is the beginning of the PEAK training and I need to walk the fine line of training and over-training.  One of my trusted TTC members posted that her PT told her over-resting outweighs over-training every time.  It is my new mantra, to listen to my body and not a piece of paper.  It is harder than it sounds.  This week, being PEAK, it chopped full of long difficult work outs, so I really need to put my ego aside and do what is best for my body right now.  Wish me luck!

3 Responses to “IM TX 70.3 Week 14”

  1. jnkmiles.org March 11, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    Glad to hear all of this…..Sounds like you’re healing mentally and physically! Every day will get easier and maybe if you just increase you distances a little but not your intensity (as you continue to feel better and better) you’ll go into TX knowing what we all know……you’re gonna rock that town!!! 😉
    FYI….some high grade compression pants after you ride and run will do wonders for the recovery…2xu or 110% play harder (the ones with the ice pocket holders built in) are staples around here….

  2. jnkmiles.org March 11, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    the hip recovery was what I was talking about….

  3. Lisa (mom to marathon) March 11, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

    You are awesome! You are coming back quickly and will soon be better than ever. Great job listening to your body.

Leave a Reply

