It is not THAT big of a deal

8 Mar

I really try to make an effort to keep my life in check.  For instance, my husband travels…A LOT and it can be hard on both of us.  It is really hard for him to be on road, especially when he has to travel to the East coast.  Nothing against the East Coast, it just takes him a day to get there which means he has to fly on a Sunday.  When he is bummed to cut his weekend short, one of us will say, “It could be worse, you could be going to Iraq.”  Flying to NYC and staying in a 4 start hotel ain’t that bad, even if all you want to do is sleep in your own bed.

I have had some “drama” in my personal and professional life lately.  Some disappointment.  Things aren’t going my way and it is very easy to put up tent and throw a big fat pity party.  And I have participated in some extent, I will admit it.  I know that I only have a hurt back, I am not dying.  I know that I do not get paid to race triathlons and if I walk the run portion, I won’t loose my pay check.  I know that if a running shirt order doesn’t ship on time, no one will die from it.  It is not brain surgery.  It isn’t THAT big of a deal.  But you know what, it is a big deal to me…right now.

I will not dwell on my set-backs, but I am not going to discount them either.  As runner, cyclist and triathletes we will almost inevitably suffer an injury and most of the time it is not life threatening.  Some of our friends and family may not understand how these set-backs effect us.  We know that it might not be a big deal to you, but it is to US!  Not only do these set backs effect us physically and mentally.  I am trying to pick myself up and I am happy that I have a wonderful support system that “gets” me.

This is a thank you to all the Toughie in my life who support me and know that a sore back isn’t cancer (thank God) but listen to me complain about it.  Thank you to my husband who lets me vent, will get my back AND give me a reality check when I need it.

This too shall pass…I just wish it would pass faster!

3 Responses to “It is not THAT big of a deal”

  1. jnkmiles.org March 8, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    Grieving is grieving….no matter what you’re grieving about/over….You’ve had a lot of stressors and you’ve had to readjust your expectations about many things in a short time. It’s perfectly healthy to go through that process and be angry/upset…I think it would be horribly UNHEALTHY to be in denial and say, “oh, its fine” when in reality it’s not. Venting and getting it out will only help….it’s all part of the healing….no matter WHAT we’re trying “get over”! 🙂

  2. Jana Resch March 8, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    I SO needed this reminder today. THANK YOU. Injuries suck, but I’m not dying. Sometimes we all need some perspective. I am, however, really glad I have Tough Chiks to chat with that do get that sometimes “small” things feel like “big” things. Hope your back is feeling better soon!

  3. Day's Run March 9, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

    Hey I just wrote about this too. After all I’ve been through the past 6 months, I”m just glad to be back out there running…even if it’s at a 15 m/m pace. It’s better than crutches and having a couch glued to my butt. I wore my Toughie l/s tee the other day for a run. It made me push a little harder. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

