Meet Tough Chiks – Amanda, Hannah and Heather!

26 Feb

 

Amanda

Amanda

Name: Amanda

Location: Monee, IL

Sport of Choice: Running & Triathlon

2013 Race Plans: Ragnar Key West FL, First Midwest Bank Half Marathon, Ironman 70.3 Racine, Great Illini Challenge 70.3, New York City Marathon, plus lots of local races from 5K to Half Marathon, a sprint duathlon and a few olympic distance triathlons.

What makes you a Tough Chik: As I’ve said before “Tough” is a perception.  I certainly don’t feel too tough at times but my ability to forge ahead under “most” circumstances sometimes gives others the illusion that I’m tough.  I honestly just want to be a good example to my children and help them realize that even though life isn’t easy, giving up or settling is NOT an option.  You really have to go after the things you want and if you want health and fitness in your life then you will #MakeItHappen.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Is “Self Replicating” a super power?  That’s what I want!  I frequently find myself pulled between the tasks that need to be completed vs what I want to complete.  Or where I need to be vs where I want to be.  I’ve posted before about stealing time.  It’s a constant juggling act for me to get everything in and do what needs to be done.  As a result, I feel like everything gets shortchanged.

Fun Fact: You are the first person that I’ve told that I “might” be considering the NYC Marathon next year.  Shush……don’t let that cat out of the bag yet, ok?

Blog URL: http://tootallfritz.com/

 

Hannah

Hannah

Name: Hannah

Location: St Louis, Missouri

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: PF Chang’s Half Marathon, Go St Louis Marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am not afraid to fail.  Everything else I want to write just sounds like a cliche, but really, I’m tough because I keep putting myself out there and doing the best I can with what life gives me.  I’m a slow runner and I know it, but that doesn’t stop me from getting out there.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Flying.  I dream about flying (who doesn’t?) and it just seems to be so awesome.  Forget running, I could FLY.

Fun Fact: I am a very passionate person.  I am a classical violinist, and I put the same passion into my running and my blog as I do into my music.

Blog URL: www.hannahviolin.me

Heather

Heather

 

Name: Heather

Location: Warner Robins, Georgia

Sport of Choice: running

2013 Race Plans: Seaside School Half Marathon, Hot Chocolate 15K Atlanta, Amica Fall Half Marathon, Clemson Easter Bunny Half Marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: No matter what I always finish the race.  With 3 kids and a busy work schedule I don’t always get to train as much as I would like but come race day I give it everything I’ve got.

If you had a super power, what would it be? I would be able to freeze time or split myself into two.  There never seems to be enough time to get everything done so a super power that would let me get more done would be awesome.

Fun Fact: I lived in Japan for 4 years and my oldest two kids were born there.  I didn’t start running until a couple of years ago and now I’ve finished 5 half marathons.

2 Responses to “Meet Tough Chiks – Amanda, Hannah and Heather!”

  1. Bethany @ The OC Fit Girl February 26, 2013 at 11:02 am #

    Wow this is great! I am totally going to follow your blog, I just discovered it!

  2. tootallfritz February 27, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    For the record, I deleted the NYC marathon from the 2013 line up and put in the Chicago Marathon. I was too worried about how the deferments from 2012 would effect the lottery and charity entries. It’s still on my “list” though as one I want to run. 🙂

Leave a Reply

