Meet Team Tough Chik Memebers – Charene, Darcy and Jessica!

19 Feb
Charene

Charene

Name: Charene

Location: El Dorado Hills, CA

Sport of Choice: Running and Taekwondo

2013 Race Plans: Shooting for one half marathon per month and a full marathon in March 2013.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’m always striving to be my best. Whether running a race, practicing taekwondo or being a wife and mother. I feel like a strong woman and can tackle any type of adversity or challenge that is put before me.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Speed!! I’ve love to have speed and strength like superman! (or superwoman) I’m not the fastest of the bunch, but would love to be!

Fun Fact: I’m extremely shy. I grew up shy and push myself every day to break out of the shell. Running races and practicing Taekwondo make me feel empowered and strong.

Blog URL: http://www.TheRunnerMom.com

Darcy

Darcy

Name: Darcy

Location: Houston, TX

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: Color Me Rad (Mar 2013); Electric Run; attempt at least one 5k a month

What makes you a Tough Chik: Until last summer, I thought I never would, I never could run. Ever. But with a lot of support and hard work, I’m running 5K races. I do this while still be 50+ lbs overweight. And working full time in a public service job. And being a mom to a precocious and amazing Kindergartner girl. And married to a supportive attorney/Navy reservist/amateur filmmaker husband.

And while wearing a Wonder Woman costume.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Control time. I never seem to have enough. And run faster.

Fun Fact: I’m a public librarian who specializes in fiction and comic books. I also knit and crochet; amigurumi (little toys) is a specialty.

Blog URL: chunkywonderwoman.blogspot.com

Jessica

Jessica

Name: Jessica

Location: part time Sacramento, CA; part time Dubai, UAE

Sport of Choice: triathlon, mtn biking, running

2013 Race Plans: I haven’t signed up for anything yet, but planning on Sea Otter Classic, hopefully two 70.3’s, an Xterra and a Ragnar Relay.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I love a good challenge and doing new things (on my athletic bucket list are a ultra-marathon and a 10km swim).  Once I have my mind made up to do something, it WILL get done and don’t tell me I can’t do it!

If you had a super power, what would it be? I think I’d like to be a ghost.

Fun Fact: I hate heights, spiders (or insects in general) and when I get really mad, I hyperventilate!

Leave a Reply

