Start you weekend with these AMAZING women! Meet Kelly, Melinda and Joan!

15 Feb
Kelly

Kelly

Name: Kelly

Location: Minneapolis, MN

Sport of Choice: running, duathlon

2013 Race Plans: Trying to break 35 min in the 5k, 75 minutes in the 10k, and 3 hours in the half marathon!

What makes you a Tough Chik: I was diagnosed with fibromalgia in 1996, though I’ve dealt with it for my entire life.  My fibro symptoms flare up in cycles, and though exercise helps mitigate the symptoms somewhat, it can be a challenge to work out when everything hurts so badly.    In the last 15 years, I have gone through cycles where I was unable to work and barely able to walk across the room… and gone through other cycles where I ran a marathon! I’m a Tough Chik because I push myself through difficult situations or circumstances, and it’s what makes me stronger than I would otherwise be.

Fun Fact: I won the 1987 Maine State Spelling Bee, and competed at the National Spelling Bee that year in Washington, D.C.  I lasted into the 3rd round, and placed 153 out of 185 competitors that year.

Blog URL: http://www.dreamstrivesucceed.com

Melinda

Name: Melinda

Location: Lombard, IL

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: I would like to PR in the half marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: As a single Mom, I get all of my training runs in on the “dreadmill”.

If you had a super power, what would it be? To be able to fly.

Fun Fact: My five year old finished his first kids marathon last summer.

Blog URL: www.losinglindy.blogspot.com

Joan

Joan

Name: Joan

Location: Salisbury, Maryland

Sport of Choice: Running, Cycling, Duathlons

2013 Race Plans: Hyner Trail Challenge 25K Off Road Race

Elephant Rock Century

Lums Pond Duathlon

Seagull Century

Baltimore Half Marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: Coming up on ten years cancer-free from last stage lymphoma. I am so grateful and always seeking to live my life “full throttle.” Jumped out of a plane this past summer to commemorate my remission! “Love Life!”

If you had a super power, what would it be? Flying first and foremost!! The most beautiful views are from the sky!!

Fun Fact: My nickname is “Irish Moosey.” Long story, but let’s just say, when the fun starts, this gal has been known to bring her moose hat out and break it down on the dance floor!…lol…

 

Leave a Reply

