TOUGH LOVE

13 Feb

I am not a fan on Valentine’s Day.  Mainly due to the fact that I spent the majority of my Valentine’s Day single (although I have been married for almost 10 years) and the scars remain.  Plus, I think it makes single people feel lonely and disappoints 90% of women in a relationship because we DO NOT live in a Meg Ryan movie.

So, I have an idea!  Tomorrow I want you to LOVE YOURSELF (not like that…get your head out of the gutter).  As women, we beat up on ourselves and take care of everyone else before ourselves.  So this year I want YOU to be YOUR Valentine.i-love-me

You want flowers at work, send them to yourself. (if your nosey co-worker ask who they are from, simply say “My Valentine”)  You want a new necklace or a massage, buy it.  I know what you are saying “I really can’t afford it or I shouldn’t be spending money on myself”.  OK, how much would you spend on a Valentine?  $10, $20, $100…spend that on YOU!  I doesn’t have to cost a thing, make yourself heart shaped pancakes or skip the laundry and take a nap.  No one will die if the laundry sits for a day.

Valentine’s Day should be about celebrating the ones we love AND we should be our own best friend, our own #1 fan, our own Valentine.  Easier said than done, so we are starting off small with one day.  One day where you are loving YOU.

Let me know what you are planning on doing for YOU!  Happy Valentine’s Day Toughies!  I wish you all TOUGH LOVE!

7 Responses to “TOUGH LOVE”

  1. Trinity February 13, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    Yes!! I plan on getting in a fabulous workout and treating myself to a fancy coffee! Then I’ll make fun crafts with the kids and let my hubby relax while I take my daughter to soccer. It’s the little things that count here! 😛

  2. Lauren Meisenheimer February 13, 2013 at 10:04 am #

    I already bought my valentine gift to myself… and it has a tough chik sticker on it already 🙂

    I have always bought flowers for myself since highschool at random times… I smile when i look at them… I haven’t gotten any this week cause they are more expensive than normal and I’m cheep… but I still have some at home from last week LOL… although I told my friends they could send me “Sympathy flowers and Chocolate this year… and bright side is cheep chocolate on friday 🙂

  3. beth February 13, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    I made the decision today to get the pre-paid card that Suze Orman started and directly deposit my Disney Store paycheck into that account. That way I’ll have to think before going and getting money to transfer it to my checking for whatever and can build up some savings.

    It will also serve as my now literal “running money” that I can use for race registrations, running gear, etc. 🙂

  4. womencyclists February 13, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    Yay! I love this idea!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. V-Day Worries! | Manu Kurup - February 13, 2013

    […] Tough Love (toughchik.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Happy Hearts | The Balanced Soul - February 14, 2013

    […] Tough Love (toughchik.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Be Kind To Singletons On Valentine’s Day | My Journey To Finding Love - February 14, 2013

    […] Tough Love (toughchik.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

