Waiting for lemonade

7 Feb

I have a big pile of lemons and I just waiting to figure out how to make them into lemonade.

Yesterday I was tossed into a bunch of lemons and I feel like I am drowning.  Enough of the analogy, here is what happened.

Yesterday was my big brick, 15 mile bike followed by a 2 mile run repeated 4 times. I was prepared. I was physched. 10 miles into my first bike leg, I reached for my water bottle and my garmin watch band (the extra free part that flaps free from the loop) caught on my brake cable (along the top tube) and when I pulled up with my bottle, it pulled the cable and my rear brake closed while I was going about 17mph. My rear wheel fish tailed and I was thrown off (out of my pedals) and I know the initial impact was on right, because that is where my helmet is dented and where I was road rash along my hip.  But I ended up on my left and that is were I am more sore.  Me and my bike ended up on the other side of the bike trail and my bike was headed in the opposite direction.  I (and my bike) am ok, just very sore. A nice gal with a baby jogger stopped and called 911, but I refused help.  I didn’t loose consciousness and I knew that nothing wasn’t broken.  I was a little shook up, but was able to ride back to my truck.   After I got back to the truck, I talked to my husband (who is traveling of course) and I decided to continue on. I ran and rode 2 more legs before I just couldn’t walk without pain. In total I only did 3 bike legs and 2 run legs, instead of the 4 I set out to do.  I also gave a flat changing lesson half-way through my 3rd bike leg to a stranded cyclist, which might have done me in.  My muscles cooled off while I was helping her and after that I was very stiff.  When I got off my bike for my 3rd run leg, I couldn’t walk.  My left leg was so stiff and sore that I couldn’t put any pressure on it.  If walking was challenging, running was out of the question.

At that point I realized that I am doing more harm than good and decided to pack it up and head home.  I was disappointed.  I was angry.  I was sad.  I was mad.  I was up to my eyeballs in lemons.

Today I am very stiff and sore and kind of feel like I was beaten with a baseball bat (or a bag of lemons).  I have whip lash and my neck is very sore and even a little swollen.  Tomorrow I am headed to Palm Spring for a big bike ride and expo.  I am working the expo and I was planning on riding.  I am SO fortunate to have such great friends that helped me load the truck tonight (thanks Laura and Neil) and unload tomorrow in Palm Springs (Thanks Lauren, Helaine, Tina and Mike).  If it weren’t for them, I would have to cancel Tough Chik’s participation in the expo!  That would have been the huge blow.  And there is the lemonade.  I have friends and people around me that will help me.  That is pretty huge and very sweet!

4 Responses to “Waiting for lemonade”

  1. Theresa Nelson February 7, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    and think about that cyclist you helped. Your workout may have been cut short, but you have helped make her more independent and she will most likely pass the kindness on. I bet she told many people about the tough chik that stopped and helped her. That gives you a little sweetner for the lemonade.

  2. Mountainstroh February 7, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

    Lady I am impressed! Many people would not have even tried to continue riding after the crash, let alone trying to run as well! I know it sucks to crash and be hurt when you are in the middle of a training program, but give your body the rest it needs, I am betting you will be up and moving normally again before you know it!

  3. climbrunliftmom February 7, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

    oh no! try to get some rest and recover a little bit lady 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 3 Things Thursday « Tough Chik - February 21, 2013

    […] I have pulled a muscle in my back.  Did it happen when I wrecked?  Is it from the coughing?  I dunno, but it makes all the coughing that much […]

Leave a Reply

