Meet Toughies – Lindsay, Susan and Margaret!

5 Feb
Lindsay

Lindsay

Name: Lindsay

Location: Carmicheal, CA

Sport of Choice: Cycling, dance

2013 Race Plans: I’m planning on riding in 3 races, one of which will be for a charity for either breast cancer research or diabetes.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I don’t know the meaning of give up or quit. I always had back, neck and shoulder pain but it never really bothered me until I started riding longer distances (30+ miles) and I found that afterwards I couldn’t lower my arms or turn my head without excruciating pain. I knew I couldn’t stop riding because I had committed to a charity ride and people had donated so I couldn’t disappoint. I went to the chiropractor and found out after x-rays that I had two curves in my spine, my upper and lower back, and my neck had started reversing it’s natural curve. This was only a couple months before I had to ride 111 miles.  I did not give up, I had intense chiropractic and massage therapy for my back and was able to ride in Tour de Tucson.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Healing

Fun Fact: I’m Canadian

 

Susan

Susan

Name: Susie Q

Location: Big Bear Lake

Sport of Choice: Cycling (Mt. Bike & Road), SUP, Trail Running, Skiing (Alpine, Cross Country, Mountaineering), snowshoeing, yoga, swimming, climbing mountains, and more…..

2013 Race Plans: I am tentatively planning on doing the Conquer the Bear series up here in Big Bear Lake, CA (This includes 10k snowshoe race, cycling road race, Mt. Bike race, paddle race (SUP), trail run- planning for events being done right now!). I will definitely do a 5k-10k running race, Mt. Bike race, SUP race,and some outdoor adventures! Plan on climbing Mt. Hood and Mt. Rainier summer 2013!

What makes you a Tough Chik: I have been doing a variety of sports my whole life.  Many times I was the only girl present amongst boys and men. I have seen women become more involved in endurance sports over the last 25 years! I have my undergraduate degree in Physical Education from Cal Poly Pomona. I have competed in different sports over the years (team sports in grade school, cycling (road & Mt. Biking), triathlon & duathlons, Rollerblading, running, outrigger, snowshoeing, SUP.)

I am a Tough Chik because I am a survivor. I take a beating and keep on competing. I am not necessarily very talented, but I love endurance sports and being outdoors. I have always tried to get other women to go outside and be active! I have been FAT and I have been THIN. I can be very BRAVE and then also become a CHICKEN.  I know how to suffer and I must kind of like it, cause I keep doing it. When competing, the worse the weather, the better I do.

I have climbed some mountains….literally and figuratively.

If you had a super power, what would it be? I have been teaching alpine skiing for 11 years at Snow Summit, CA. I have earned lots of skiing certifications and love teaching people how to enjoy the snow and the outdoors.  My finance and I are planning on doing more mountaineering/back country skiing this winter. We want to go climb Mt. Hood, Mt. Rainier, and stuff in between this summer on our way to Canada summer 2013!

I use to be REALLY into art of all kinds till I got pulled into the world of endurance sports.

margaret-poloroid

Name: Margaret

Location: Lancaster, WI

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: plan to run 6  Half-Marathons.  The first one will be the first weekend of May.  One or 2 in June and then I will race on Labor Day, something in October, and the 3rd Annual Lead Rush in Galena, IL the first weekend of November will wrap up my racing year.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am a tough chik because I am learning to be the athlete that I always dreamed of being.  I am finding strength within that was always there.  Running has made me strong and confident and that makes me a tough chik!

If you had a super power, what would it be? My super power would be to make extra time in every single day.  Time to spend with my family and run.

Fun Fact: I own a pizza place and I truly eat food from there for dinner every night.  Pizza restaurants can be healthy if you choose wisely!!

Blog URL: http://www.scissorscutpaper.com

 

Leave a Reply

