Watch out for these Tough Chiks! Crystal, Heidi and Walisa are TOUGHIES!!!

31 Jan

 

Crystal

Crystal

Name: Crystal Fun2Race

Location: Dayville, CT

Sport of Choice: Mountain Biking, Cyclocross, Archery, Swimming & sometimes Running

2013 Race Plans: I’m not sure yet how much I can cram into one year, but I would like to do the following: a 6/12 hour mountain bike race, 4-5 xc mountain bike races, 8-10 cyclocross races, a marathon, 2 5ks, at least one 2.4 mile swim race, national outdoor archery championships, and anything else that comes up and looks fun!

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’m a tough chick because I am stubborn and don’t like to give up. I’m not afraid to weight train, get dirty or push through a tough workout. I like to challenge myself to try new things, and I encourage those around me to become more active in their own lives

If you had a super power, what would it be? My ideal super power would be teleportation. We waste so much of our lives traveling between one place and another, so this would free me up to do so much more with my time. Also, I would be able to easily visit all of my out of state family and friends on a regular basis!

Fun Fact: In 2001, I had the opportunity to train as a member of team USA (swimming) in New Zealand and Australia in preparation for competing in the Australian Gold Coast Challenge, where I took silver in both of my events.

Blog URL: http://crystalfun2race.wordpress.com

 

Heidi

Heidi

Name: Heidi

Location: Oak Ridge, Tennessee

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: So far: Jan 1 – New Year’s Day 5k (Knoxville, TN), Jan 13 – Hot Chocolate 15k (Atlanta, GA), April 27 – Country Music Half Marathon (Nashville, TN), September 1 – Virginia Beach Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon (VA Beach, VA), November 24 – Secret City Half Marathon (Oak Ridge, TN)

What makes you a Tough Chik: In October 2008, someone took a photo of me at a company picnic. When I saw that picture all my denial peeled away…I was morbidly obese. I don’t know how I had really ignored it for so long. I really wasn’t as unhealthy as I could have been, but I knew it was a matter of time. Since then I have had to suck it up and lose 80lbs. On January 1, 2010 a friend talked me into running a New Year’s Day 5k and I was able to run/walk it and cried when I finished. I was hooked. Since then I have finished countless smaller races, 11 half marathons, and one full marathon. All the while I am a wife, Mom, friend, full time graphic designer, etc. I am a tough chik because I took responsibility for my body and my health and have made the change. And because of that many others have started their own journeys to be healthy and some are even runners now!

If you had a super power, what would it be? Being able to eat as much chocolate as I want without gaining weight. LOL!!!

Fun Fact: I have a secret obsession with the paranormal and would love to go on a ghost hunt. 🙂

Blog URL: http://runningawayintn.wordpress.com/

 

Walisa

Walisa

Name: Walisa

Location: Cleveland, OH

Sport of Choice: Running, Kickboxing, and Spin Cycle

2013 Race Plans: To complete my first Half-Marathon (Cleveland- Rite Aid Half and Marathon). My friends and I will be first-timers in the following races:  Tough Mudder, Foam Fest, and 5K Color Run

What makes you a Tough Chik: I make attainable goals and work hard to achieve. It does not matter how long it takes to achieve, I start what I finish. “Cannot” is not in my vocabulary. I am in no way perfect, but I “try” my best to attain

If you had a super power, what would it be? To clean the house with a snap of a finger.

Fun Fact: “I have an APP for that!”

Leave a Reply

