Meet Donna, Sammie and Catharine! Three TOUGH CHIKS!!

29 Jan
Donna

Donna

Name: Donna

Location: Columbia, SC

Sport of Choice: Running Half Marathons

2013 Race Plans: Myrtle Beach Run Like A Diva Half Marathon April 2013

Savannah Rock and Roll Half Marathon November 2013

(probably a few more but these I know for sure)

What makes you a Tough Chik: I began running (or actually walking fast) in August 2010 when I was roped into a 5K race.  I was immediately hooked and continued to race almost every weekend for several months.  I then became part of Team in Training and ran/walked my first half marathon in November of 2011 and my second in April of 2012.  Since that time, I have encouraged several groups of friends to give running a try.  We train together when we can and encourage one another.  I now have a group of 10 women going as a group to run the Diva Half Marathon in April of 2013.

If you had a super power, what would it be? I would want to be able to read minds.  I have always and still do after losing 80 pregnancy pounds, have a lower than necessary self esteem.  I would love to be able to read minds so I could give that much needed encouragement to other women who need to hear it.  We all are most critical on ourselves and it’s nice when someone else recognizes that we are truly wonderful people.

Fun Fact: I am adopted and found my birth family.  My sister who I have become very close to will be doing her first half marathon with me in April of 2013.

Blog URL: http://pages.teamintraining.org/sc/rnrsav12/run4KristinandTrey

Sammie-poloroid

Name: Sammie

Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Sport of Choice: Running and triathlons

2013 Race Plans: recovering/rebuilding from a NASTY lupus flare up! (Hoping to be well enough to do Tri for the Cure and the Denver marathon, but we shall see)

What makes you a Tough Chik: I have been told that I will never be able to run again to many times to count.  I have permanent nerve damage in my leg (military related) and within the past few years I found out I have lupus, RA and fibromyalgia but I still refuse to throw in the towel!

If you had a super power, what would it be? I am a single mother, what other super power is there?!!!!!! 😀

Fun Fact: I usually finish my races off in a dead sprint! (I hear comments about ‘don’t let the fat chick beat you’ and that just fuels my last push and I really love hearing the comments after the finish line!)

I have four children, two human babies (ages 11 and 13) and two fur babies (boxer and great dane/lab)

Blog URL: http://beyondblingandbibs.blogspot.com/

Catherine

Catherine

Name: Catharine

Location: Washington, DC

Sport of Choice: Triathlons – swimming, biking, and running – AND SKIING!!!

2013 Race Plans: Big races are – HIM Raleigh, Lake Placid Ironman, and Savageman 70.0

What makes you a Tough Chik: I will keep going no matter what. And when someone tells them that they don’t think that I can do something, the effect on me is like Popeye being fed spinach. It lights a fire under my tushie and makes me want to show how they’ve underestimated me.

If you had a super power, what would it be? The ability to store sleep – but then I might spend my workdays napping.

Fun Fact: It took me 2 years straight of doing yoga to be able to touch my toes. And it took a 2-week torrid lovely affair with Oreos to lose it. My toes and fingers are still trying to work through their trust issues after that.

Blog URL: http://catmmx.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

