IM TX 70.3 Week 8 recap

28 Jan

HIM TX Training

Week 8 Recap

Swim: 2800 yds

Run: 8 miles

Cycle: 48 miles

Strength Training: 1 hour 45 min (1 lower body, 1 upper body and 3 core)

6 workouts scheduled – 6 completed, 8 hrs

This week was MUCH easier that last week, THANK GOODNESS!  I needed a little boost.  Last week I received a lot of great advice and encouragement for some of my amazing teammates.  A big thank you to Jenn, Tonia and Erika!  You ladies rock and helped more than you probably realize!  Last week I only had one swim, one bike and one run workout, so in comparison a lighter week and this week is an Active Recovery week with 3 days off!  I don’t even know what I am going to do with myself!!

Swim:  My one swim workout was my longest pool swim to date!  It was great and a fun mile stone to share with Trainer Ali.  It is hard to imagine that less than 2 years ago I could swim a pool length (25 yds).

Run: If you have been following my journey, you know that running isn’t really my thang.  After consulting with my “team” I decided to scale back on the running (from the advance level to the intermediate level) which was 8 mile run for the week.  My plan was to go out and actually use my heart rate monitor and stay in zone 2 and 3.  I set up my alerts on the Garmin so that if my heart rate went over 147, an alert would go off to tell me to slow down.  It was raining and I didn’t want to run in the rain and I really didn’t want to run 8 miles on the treadmill.  There was a break in the rain and I raced out to the trail.  As I pulled into the parking lot, I realized I forgot my chest strap for the heart rate monitor.  All that and I forgot the chest strap!  So I made the decision that I would not look at my Garmin during my run to see my pace and just listen to my body.  Listen to my knees and my breathe and mainly to my stomach.  I knew that as soon as I started to feel a little queasy, I needed to slow down.  I sipped on a water bottle of sustained energy (by Hammer) and felt pretty good.  I finished 6 min slower that last week, which I am not going to lie, I was a little disappointed, but more importantly…I felt okay.

Bike:  I only had one bike session and it was scheduled for Saturday.  My teammate and bike buddy, Virginia, and I had a flat 50 mile out and bike planned.  We texted back and forth all Friday evening and Saturday morning about the weather.  We had a lot of rain and as soon as it let up, it would start back up again!  So we pushed the ride to Sunday and although we got sprinkled on, it was brief and ended up being a nice day.  Virginia had to hold back and slow down a few times for me, which is humbling since she insist that she is not fast (bullsh!t).  I know that I am not as fast as I have been in the past when I was just riding, which sucks, but it is what it is.

Overall it was a nice and easier week, which I really needed.  Like I mentioned earlier, week 9 is an active recovery week and I am already fidgety.  Seriously 3 days off, is that really a good idea???  I guess Cosmo is going to get some long walks and I will be spending some time with the foam roller!

4 Responses to “IM TX 70.3 Week 8 recap”

  1. Cory Reese January 28, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    I love those scale-back weeks. Great job on getting the workouts in.

  2. jnkmiles.org January 28, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

    I can’t ever remember 3 full days off….usually 1 and then extra days of slow, easy swimming …easy Zone 1 spinning (maybe full rest would be easier!!)….and Zone 1-low 2 running…errr jogging or maybe it’s just a really fast walk??!!! 🙂 aid station cruise through simulation???!! I have to move though…just remember you get stronger and absorb your work with rest and active (Zone 1) recovery! 🙂 Remember that HR strap!! glad to hear you felt better!! Zone2-3 running is taxing mentally, but once you get over the slower pace, you really feel great and start to think maybe this running stuff isn’t quite so bad…if done the right way! 🙂

  3. kwhitlock January 28, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    Nice job! Especially on the swim – you have come a long way 🙂

  4. kwhitlock January 28, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    Nice job! Especially on the swimming – you have come a long way! I have to say 3 days off does seem like a lot but every plan is different. Trust the training as they say 🙂

Leave a Reply

