Welcome Deb, Shanen and Suzanne, 3 Tough Chiks!!

15 Jan
Deb

Deb

Name: Deb

Location: Omaha Nebraska

Sport of Choice: Triathlon, Running, Cycling, Swimming, Mud/Obstacle Runs

2013 Race Plans:

Local Sprint Triathlons, Duathlons, multiple 5K’s and a couple mud runs. Would like to try trail running.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I just completed my first athletic season this summer and I turn 60 in December. I completed 3 sprint Tri’s, multiple 5Ks, Warrior Dash, Dirty Girl and did my first quarter century ride. I am overweight, slow and too stubborn to quit. I have dealt with many injuries this season as I push myself more but despite injuries, I keep moving FORWARD. If I cannot do one sport then I have others to fill the gap. Most importantly- I am HAVING FUN!

If you had a super power, what would it be? The ability to stretch time so I could fit in my daily training, family, work, friends, other hobbies and housework. There is never enough time!

Fun Fact: In addition to my sports and full time job, I am also a consultant for Close To My Heart. I teach traditional and digital scrapbooking, card making and other crafts as well. I also sell CTMH stamping and papercrafting products.

Blog URL: www.themysticgypsy.blogspot.com

shanen-poloroid

Name: Shanen

Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA and Yuma, AZ

Sport of Choice: running, adventure runs, sprint tri’s, rock climbing (not competitive)

2013 Race Plans: The White Continent (Antarctica) Marathon, Punta Arenas Marathon (Chile), Pat Tillman Run (Phoenix, AZ), Muddy Buddy (at least 1 or 2), Rock n Roll PHX 1/2 marathon, Rock n Roll Portland 1/2 marathon

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am a chick welder who works as a trainer for the largest welding manufacturer in the country (Miller Electric- the Blue welders).  One of my life goals is to spread joy through doggy love: I have a 100lb weimer-Dane who is a certified therapy dog.  Winston and I visit nursing homes almost every weekend.  I also have a Bucket List item of running a 1/2 marathon in all 50 States; I’ve knocked out 9 so far.

If you had a super power, what would it be? I would be able to bend time so that I could do so many more things in a day… I have so many things I want to accomplish!

Truthfully, though, I would not refuse the option of Spidey senses and shooting webs from my wrists. Could you imagine the places I could climb?

Fun Fact: I was terrified of heights as a child as a result of a traumatic experience at age 4. In high school, I decided to confront my fears head on: I took a rock climbing class!  Later in life, I was actually a rock climbing instructor in Arizona. My favorite people to work with are people who are anxious but willing to seize the day and try something daring!

 

Suzanne

Suzanne

Name: Suzanne

Location: San Marcos, CA

Sport of Choice: Triathlon

2013 Race Plans: I’d like to do the Redman Triathlon in Oklahoma in September of 2013

What makes you a Tough Chik: After getting through a type 2 diabetes diagnoses and a skin cancer diagnosis and treatment, I decided I needed help. My doctor recommended the Positive Choice program and radiation. Got through both but realized that losing the weight was the easy part- Keeping the weight off is the hard part!! Exercise and keeping focused on eating sensible portions and the right things is essential!

I love the San Diego weather and all the runs and races! RunDisney has been a great motivator but I want to share my experience with young women who may be feeling like exercise is a chore. It always can be fun…ALWAYS!

If you had a super power, what would it be? Invisibility- for sure

Fun Fact: I am always star struck by Mickey Mouse and fireworks displays

Leave a Reply

