IM TX 70.3 Week 6 Recap

14 Jan

HIM TX Training

Week 6 Recap

Swim: 3300 yds (1300 yds, 2000 yds)

Run: 14.25 miles (5.25 miles, 8 miles)

Cycle: 65 miles (38 miles, 27 miles)

Strength Training: 45 min (1 upper body, 1 core)

6 workouts scheduled – 6 completed, 10.5 hrs

Excuse my language, but shit got real this week.  My Saturday work out was a 27 mile bike ride followed by an 8 mile run.  I haven’t run further than 7 miles since marathon training in 2007, but more on that later.

Swim – my swim sessions were pretty standard issue.  Although I must admit that 2000 yrds feels long, I got use to 1200 yrd work outs, just as I was afraid of.

Bike – I had the privilege of seeing Joe Friel speak this week, so I tried my indoor session using HR zones as specified in the training plan.  I discovered that I push myself hard than the plan is suggesting.  Since this session was based on time (not distance) I was able to see how easy a zone 2 ride should be.  But when was all said and done, I burned a significant amount of calories and covered a long distance.  I guess harder isn’t always better.  My second ride of the week was a group ride on Saturday morning (before my run) and the start temp was 37*.  It was COLD!  But I am so happy I got up early and joined a group of cyclists, I forget how much I enjoy group rides.  Plus I got a chance to ride with fellow Toughie, Virginia, who is a phenomenal cyclist.  Glad she is on my team!

Run – My first run of the week was suppose to be followed by an upper body and core session.  I walked into the gym wiped.  My legs were jell-o and I wasn’t even sure I was going to make it through my run.  I wanted those 5 miles to be over with so bad, that I ran pretty fast!  After I got of the treadmill I knew that there wasn’t going to be a weight session.  I was so exhausted that I figured I would either hurt myself or do it so half a$$ it that it wouldn’t be worth it.  My second run of the week followed my bike ride on Saturday.  After I got home from the ride, I ate rested and about 2.5 hrs later headed to the gym.  The workouts weren’t right after each other, but I was pretty concerned that I was going to have trouble putting 8 miles on my legs.  The work out called for 15 min in zone 3 and 2 min in zone 2.  I was in zone 2 just warming up.  I knew if I stuck to the zones, it would take me 3 hours to run 8 miles.  So instead I ran a comfortable pace for 15 min and then backed off to a brisk walk for 2 min.  This REALLY helped me get through the 8 miles and I completed the run in 1:22, which I was very happy with.  Although I was pretty useless for the rest of the day.  Next week is 10 mile, no 10% increase here!

Week 6 is in the books and I am now starting to feel like I am really training for a big race.

One Response to “IM TX 70.3 Week 6 Recap”

  1. Erika January 14, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    You are doing such a great job! Wonderful week for you! Keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

