IM TX 70.3 Week 5 Recap

7 Jan

HIM TX Training

Week 5 Recap

Swim: 4400 yds (1050 yds, 1350 yds, 2000 yds)

Run: 12.25 miles

Cycle: 28.3 miles

Strength Training: 1 hour (1 lower body and 2 core sessions)

6 workouts scheduled – 7 completed

Swim – I threw in an extra swim session because I wanted to swim with the hubby and Trainer Ali.  Yesterday I had a 2000 yd swim followed by 1 hr 40 min trainer session.  It didn’t dawn on me until last night when I was freaking out about studying future workouts that a swim-bike or bike-run workout is different from a brick.  I assumed that all swim-bikes and bike-run workouts were bricks (when you do one session right after the other), so it was a little relief that I can break up the two work outs.

Running – The running mileage is ramping up quickly, no 10% increase here.  I have been working out at the “pro” level, which is the longest distance, but might have to fall back to the “elite” level for the run.  I am comfortable running 6 miles, but 8 (which is on the docket for this week) is pushing it.

Cycle – only one bike session this week and it was after a swim, so I opted for the trainer.   Too cold out to ride with wet hair.  I am finding it hard to follow the plan while riding outside.  I live in a pretty hilly area, so 40 min of easy riding followed by only 5 min of climbing is impossible.  Now 40 min of climbing and 5 min of easy riding, I can find that.

Overall, a very successful week.  I can see that the foam roller and I will be besties by the end of this journey!

Have a great week!

2 Responses to “IM TX 70.3 Week 5 Recap”

  1. Erika January 7, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    Awesome job! Your training is going so well 🙂

  2. Patrick January 7, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

    Owning the swim…

Leave a Reply

