IM TX 70.3 Week 4 Recap

31 Dec

HIM TX Training

Week 4 Recap

Swim: 2750 yds (1250 yds, 1500 yds)

Run: 6.29 miles

Cycle: 23.2 miles

Strength Training: 1 hour 15 min (1 upper body, 1 lower body and 2 core sessions)

6 workouts scheduled – 6 completed

Run – Only 1 scheduled run this week and I made it count!  I spent most of the week in North Texas at my mom’s house and they got snow and ice on Christmas day.  2 days later on my run, there was still ice and snow on the ground.  So this little So Cal girl toughed it out and ran outside in 30*+ weather.  The first mile was cold, but after that I warmed up and had a great run.

Swim – 2 swim sessions and the yardage is starting to climb, which makes me a little more comfortable with the training.  This week we added drills to the mix, not my favorite, but I can tell how my form tightens up after a few drills.  I know they work, so I suck it up!  Finally met back up with Trainer Ali and got in a swim with her, which is always nice.

Cycle – Only 1 scheduled bike session this week which worked out well since I was in TX most of the week.  Yesterday we (my hubby and I) got out and rode and it was a little chilly in So Cal, I am not gonna lie!  It was probably in the high 40’s but when you are going 20 mph down hill, it feels a lot colder!

Weights – 2 weight sessions, the upper body session I did in the gym in TX and the lower body I did at my mom’s just using my body weight.  I did squats, lunges, side lunges, calf raises on the stairs, some side leg lifts and let me tell you, I AM SORE!  You can get in a helluva work out with nothing but yourself and a little imagination.

Week 4 was the last week of the Base Phase and now I am on to the Build 1 Phase.  Starting 2013 with building an Ironman, can’t think of a better way to start!

One Response to “IM TX 70.3 Week 4 Recap”

  1. markwcunningham December 31, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    Good luck on the 70.3 !

Leave a Reply

