What I Learned – 2012 Tri Edition

13 Dec

As 2012 and my first full triathlon season are coming to a close, I am reflecting on what I learned this year.  I decided to jot these gems of wisdom down in hopes that you won’t make the same mistakes I did OR to give you a good chuckle.

honey-stinger-energy gels1) Keep a package of nutrition (I like Honey Stinger Chews) open at transition.  I would get to transition and decide that I didn’t want to take the time to open the package and then I wouldn’t eat.  If it is open, I will pop a few chews in my mouth while I am changing.

yankz

2) YANKS!  or speed laces or something similar.  I love my Yanks.  There is no sense wasting time tying your shoes.  You might not think that it takes that much time, but for me, it is one less thing to think about and I never need to stop to tie my shoes.

bike 1

Wear your timing chip on the left foot! NOT like this!

3) Place your timing chip on your left ankle.  I must have smaller ankles, because I always have a loose flap that won’t Velcro down.  At ITU I was wearing my chip on my right ankle and the loose flap kept hitting my large chain ring and I was so worried that it was going to catch and I was going to go flying.  Wear it on the left foot were it won’t interfere with any bike mechanics!

Swimming goggles isolated on the white background

4) Bring an extra pair of goggles.  Shit happens.  I can’t tell you how many times I have lent out my spare pair.  On the same note, bring an extra water bottle.  I have also lent out a water bottle here and there on race morning.  It feels really good to “save” someones race!  Good karma is always a nice way to start a race!

Milenio-Wholesale-Flip-Flops-e1347649613637

5) Wear flip flops to the race, not your running shoes (or bring flip flops).  You have to leave your running shoes in transition and then you typically have anywhere from 30 min to 1 1/2 hr until your wave.  There is nothing worse than walking around on cold gravel before a race.  If you have a friend with you, hand off your shoes to them before you head to the corral before your wave.  I have a pair of cheap Wal-Mart flip flops that I stash before the race.  They cost $3 and no one has run off with them yet.  And if I forget them or someone takes them, it was only $3 or they probably needed them more than I.

Do  you have an pearl of wisdom to share with the other Tough Chiks out there?  Drop me a line!!

3 Responses to “What I Learned – 2012 Tri Edition”

  1. Michelle December 13, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    all good ideas! I need to remember to pack some body glide as well. ouch!

  2. TriFemme December 13, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    A fellow tough chick taught me these. But your helmet upside down on your bike handle bars with the straps out so you will always have to put on your helmet before you get your bike. Also, for nutrition (doesn’t work on all bikes), you can actually stick your honey stinger chews on the bar just below your handle bars. Wet them just a little and then stick them on your bike so you can eat them as you bike!

  3. Trevor December 13, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    Make sure you leave your bike in the right gear to get started. Nothing more imbarrassing than hopping on the bike in a rediculously hard gear.

Leave a Reply

