What has happened to me?

7 Dec

This weekend is my husbands work’s Holiday Party.  Each year it puts me in a tizzy.  I work from home and live in sports bras, running shorts and Tough Chik tees.  Ever since I started working from home, I rarely wear make up or fix my hair and I get super annoyed if I have to tie a pair of shoes (I LOVE YANKS!).  I feel 10 times more comfortable in a sports bar than a real one and running short are awesome because they have built in undies!  Yes, I have become lazy.  I admit it, but no one but my pets or the UPS guy sees me, so who cares.

Back in the day (I.e. when I worked in an office) I could run in heals, straightened or rolled my hair every day and always wore make up.  I even owned designer purses that were leather and matched (not bike tubes or canvas)!  I wore belts and earrings and actually took my clothes (not just my husbands) to the dry cleaner.  I had style.  Now I have convenience.

So I spent 3 excruciating hours at the mall, a place I use to love…now I loathe.  If I can’t buy it at Target, I don’t need it.  Seriously.  Besides my work out gear (which I buy on-line or make myself) all my clothes are Target or left overs from my fashionable days.  So I have to buy a dress or outfit for a Christmas party at the Ritz, fancy schmachy…not really me, anymore.

I walked around in circles for about an hour, like a lost puppy or amnesia patient.  I had a P!NK inspired outfit in my head….I wanted sequin pants, an over-sized black sweater and big chunky booties.  I found 3 pair of pants and all were WAY too short, so my outfit was axed.  Probably not very office Christmasy anyway.  So, I fueled with a Jamba juice and decided I would just walk into White House, Black Market and find something.  Over an hour later I left with a dress, that mostly fits me (I swear I must have the weirdest figure because dresses just don’t fit me) and pair of satin pant that I can fit over my calves and pair of heals that I can walk it (short distances).

Not sure what I will end up wearing, but I would love to incorporate compression socks.  I will wear my good ones, they are black…that is fancy, right?

8 Responses to “What has happened to me?”

  1. Trinity December 7, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    Girl, I hear you so so well. And I’m sure you look fabulous in your new outfit. 🙂

  2. Janine (@PurpleGiraffeJ9) December 7, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    The Holiday ProCompression Socks would match – they’re red and white candycane striped!

  3. climbrunliftmom December 7, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    This is so me. The closest I get to dressing up is wearing jeans when I go climbing, lol. Glad you found something though. I’m sure you’ll look gorgeous in it 🙂

  4. dccogCat December 7, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    As one of my friends always says – get black compression socks and you can pretend that they are dress pant socks

  5. RunFastMama December 7, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    I love White House/Black Market! I get a good amount of my work clothes there. Im with you on the dresses too! My waist line is much lower than most dresses are cut for…Id have to say no on the compression socks with it 😉 Have a great time at the party!

  6. amysrecipefordisaster December 7, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Oooo – pics of the final outfit choice please! I can definitely relate and still can’t figure out why work out gear isn’t “office appropriate”. I think I would work much better in super comfy clothes! Have fun at the part – you will look SMASHING!

  7. Patrick Mahoney December 7, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    I have to go to my wife’s party tomorrow – I’m told nice jeans, collard shirt and jacket are fine. It’s just one night and I’ll survive. Cinder Block’s holiday party is at…wait for it…Dave And Busters. That should be OK. I think I can wear whatever I want. I should bust out the vintage Star Wars tee for that.

    You could start working on a Tough Chik “après ass-kicking” line for Spring….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 1 Recap « Tough Chik - December 10, 2012

    […] Here is the dress!  Sorry the pictures suck, but the kid at Fleming’s does not have a future in photography and I am too lazy to correct the images any more that I have already.  In red-eye function in Photoshop is giving us black eyes and I blew out the levels for you to even see us!  Anyhoo…if I look a little green that is because I spent the whole day is bed.  On Friday night I woke up feeling very nauseous and with a fever.  I slept all day on Saturday and I didn’t think I could pull it together for the party.  Of course the party started at The Ritz Carlton for cocktails, then they bused everyone to dinner at Fleming’s and the bused everyone back to the Ritz for an after-party and we all had rooms at the Ritz.  Nice, right?  I get sick twice a year and this is the stinking day!  Really?  UGH! […]

Leave a Reply

