Meet Toughies Angela, Pamela and Charene

3 Dec

ANGIE COMPTONName: Angela

Location: Homestead, FL

Sport of Choice: Running, Cycling, Triathlon

2013 Race Plans: Ragnar Relay Fl Keys – Jan 5-6 2013, A1A Fort Lauderdale Half Marathon – Feb, Key Biscayne Half Marathon – April, Tri Miami Olympic Distance Triathlon – May, Key Biscayne Triathlon Trilogy + Bonus Round – June to Sept., Tradewinds Triathlon –

What makes you a Tough Chik: Growing up, I was never an athlete.  I was always that kid that hated running a mile for the fitness tests and almost always finished last.  Now that fitness is in my life, it sometimes takes me twice as long as some people, and I feel like I have to work twice as hard, but I always finish what I start.  And I don’t feel like there’s anything I can’t do!

If you had a super power, what would it be? To be able to never sleep, so that I could get more done 🙂

Fun Fact: My husband despises cyclists, and still refuses to embrace that I’ve become one 🙂

Blog: http://lifebeyondthechaos.blogspot.com

Pamela

Pamela

Name: Pamela

Location: Sacramento, CA

Sport of Choice: Cycling, running, strength training

2013 Race Plans: TinkerBell Half Marathon, CA International Marathon Relay, WiPro SF 1st Half Marathon (still pending), No Excuses 5K, Run to Feed the Hungry 10K, and some as yet TBD cycling events

What makes you a Tough Chik: After years of living passively and people-pleasing, I chose to take control of my own future..physically and emotionally and am more determined than ever to not go backwards. It may not always be pretty, but I finish what I start and do it on my own terms. I don’t let plateaus or obstacles get in the way of my goals. You don’t have to follow me, but don’t get in my way.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Flight. Or maybe the ability to read minds? Although with a psychology background, the more I know of some people, the less I wish I did. So maybe that wouldn’t be so super. Ya, I’m gonna stick with flight.

Fun Fact: My favorite thing to do in the gym is squats on the bosu-ball. In nearly 7 years, I’ve never admitted that to my trainer because part of me believes he has me do them so he’ll seem more “mean” and I don’t want to hurt his feelings. :0)

Blog: http://grasshopperme.wordpress.com/

Charene

Charene

Name: Charene

Location: El Dorado Hills, CA

Sport of Choice: Running and Taekwondo

2013 Race Plans: Shooting for one half marathon per month and a full marathon in Napa, March 2013.

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’m always striving to be my best. Whether running a race, practicing taekwondo or being a wife and mother. I feel like a strong woman and can tackle any type of adversity or challenge that is put before me.

If you had a super power, what would it be? Speed!! I’ve love to have speed and strength like superman! (or superwoman) I’m not the fastest of the bunch, but would love to be!

Fun Fact: I’m extremely shy. I grew up shy and push myself every day to break out of the shell. Running races and practicing Taekwondo make me feel empowered and strong.

Blog: http://www.TheRunnerMom.com

Leave a Reply

