Theses ladies define TOUGH CHIK! Meet Jennifer, Donna and Colette.

30 Nov

Jennifer

Name: Jennifer

Location: Western New York Southerntier

Sport of Choice: Marathon, Triathlon

2013 Race Plans: Nothing concrete, but I want to get back to my distance racing (I miss the time to myself the training gives me,) so absolutely a half marathon (maybe two) looking at Virginia Beach Shamrock in March, and Rochester MVP in September. For the summer, two sprint distance triathlons. Probably Musselman again, and maybe A Tri In The Buff or Owascoman?!

Plenty of local(ish) 5ks and 10ks

What makes you a Tough Chik: I am a Tough Chik because ~ I have Fibromyalgia. I have been combating the symptoms (chronic fatigue and pain) and related conditions of this auto-immune disorder with exercise and diet. I began with marathoning (a year prior to my 35th birthday, as a gift to myself) to give me a goal, and keep me on track. Because I am very competitive and driven, the training provides a “no excuses” routine for me. Tri-ing was the next step in my journey. I wanted my exercise plan to be more eclectic and wished for the challenge. It has been the right choice. I am more balanced, and recover more quickly. The health, strength, and confidence it gives me is immeasurable. The hardest part about training for the race is finding the time to get all the training in. I am a Mom of two wonderful little girls (6 and 9), a home daycare provider, a girl scout leader/trainer, and a soccer coach. On “bad” days with my condition, I find the ability to push through it, because I am tenacious. I have a separate planner with my scheduled trainings in it. I work with my families schedule, and my work/volunteer schedule to get each days training done, whenever I can. Sometimes this means getting up early, sometimes it means staying up later, often times it means sacrifice, but the payoff is worth it. So far I have completed several 5ks, 8ks, 10ks, 3 half marathons, a 14 mile trail race, 3 full marathons, a duathlon, 3 triathlons, and 3 obstacle style mud runs. Every race has helped me feel inspired (by racers, especially ones meeting challenges, and my own desire to overcome my obstacle,) hopeful (I usually get a little emotional,) and accomplished (the culmination of all the hard work.) I am jazzed for the rest of the day (and sometimes into the next week!) In 2012 I challenged myself to go further ~ Because my “good months” are March – September, I made my goal to do 2 races each month, with a total of 14 for the 7 month period. They include ~ 5ks, a 21k bike ride, a 33 mile bike ride, a duathlon, 2 triathlons, 2 mud/obstacle runs, and a color run. I did 16 races in all. My motto is, “Because today I can.” Do what you are able to, knowing that you can do it, the reward is immeasurable. I do this so I can be a better person, mother, and woman, I am proud to call myself a marathoner, a triathlete, and one tough mama!!

If you had a super power, what would it be? This is a good one…I thought a long time. The ability to heal others and myself quickly. I know, not very Marvel Comics, but it’s what I would want.

Fun Fact: I love to cook!!! I wanted to open a Lunchette in the college town down the road called Simply Soups (serving artisan breads with the daily specials.)

Blog: http://justjennifertri-ing.blogspot.com/

Donna

Name: Donna

Location: Stafford,VA

Sport of Choice: Running

2013 Race Plans: May 5, 2013 New Jersey Marathon, Long Branch Half Marathon

Feb 13, 2013 Virginia is For Lovers 14k Virginia Beach, VA

More to come!

What makes you a Tough Chik: I’m a wife of a retired marine, but I think after 22 years I can truly call myself a hardcore marine wife. Yes my husband has been in combat many times, but I have to say that I’ve been in combat with myself.  There have been many ups and downs in my life, a sometime wife when my husband was at home and not on deployment, but a full time mom! I’ve been thin, I’ve been obese. I woke up one day realizing that it was now time for me. I’ve worked hard with blood and sweat and I can now call myself fit and healthy. I’ve not reached my goal yet, but I will! Running has saved my life, without it I feel empty. It’s made me the tough Chik I am today!

If you had a super power, what would it be? It would have to be wonder women powers (not sure what those are) but I’m always wondering what I can get myself into next!!

Fun Fact: 1) I’m LOUD!

2) I’m obsessed with Lululemon

3) Races are like prom for me..break out the sparkles and shine!!

Colette

Name: Colette

Location: Long Neck DE

Sport of Choice: Running and Triathlon

2013 Race Plans: Shamrock 1/2 marathon

Heros’s Rush

Philly sherox tri

Color run

Just a few to start!

What makes you a Tough Chik: Determination and motivation

Never say Never.    When someone tells me ” You can’t do that! “……. I just smile and think to myself. “Just watch me!”.  3 1/2 years ago I was dx with uterine cancer and was blessed to have caught it at stage 2.  After all the medication and radiation treatments, my strength came back and I began to start running again. Last year with the motivation and support from my old high school buddies, I ran my first 1/2 marathon……. And haven’t stopped.

I run for those who can’t.  I enjoy getting people motivated on off the couch!

If you had a super power, what would it be? To get kids outside and moving!

Fun Fact: I’m a firefighter and flight nurse

Leave a Reply

