Week 0

29 Nov

This week I started training for my first Half Ironman Triathlon, also know as a 70.3 (#of miles), HIM (abbreviation), Middle Distance and Long Course.  A 70.3 is a 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike and 13.1 mile run.  My race is Ironman 70.3 Texas in Galveston, TX on April 7th and I am excited, nervous, scared and super stoked all at the same time.

My 18-week training should really start on Dec 3rd, but I got a jump start this week, therefor it is week 0.  I also started back with food journaling to help get my diet on track.  Right before Christmas…YAY! (that was sarcasm).  I have a love hate relationship with food journaling.  I love rules, guidelines and structure, almost to the point of obsession.  If I make rules for myself I can get a little nutty and refuse to budge, so I am giving my self a free day once a week and I can indulge here and there during my Christmas vacation to see my Mom.  She is a great cook and we love to share a glass or two of wine.  I know nutrition will play a big part in my training and recovery.

Week 0 (and 1) is the start of the Base Phase, which is a easy, low intensity week in which I am suppose to adapt to the training.  For me, that means cutting WAY back on my mileage.  This is not easy for me.  I admit it, I love racking up miles and counting how many calories I burn (a big reason why I hate weight training).  Even though I wasn’t training for a race prior to this week, I was working out 6 days a week (2 swims, 2 runs, 2 rides and wight session here and there).  I would never leave the pool with less that 2,000 yds and my goal each week was to achieve 70 miles.  Today I am suppose to swim 200 yds.  Yep, 200.  200 yds is my warm up.  I am not knocking it, it is just a lot less than what I am use to.

Yesterday I emailed T, (yes, I am racing the same race she did last year and yes I am following the exact same plan and YES, I do kinda want to be her…but no worries, I am not a stalker and I can’t pull off a a shaved head or blue hair…my head is way to round for that) and her one piece of advice was to follow the plan and don’t add too much in the beginning. I am going to trust the plan and follow it to the tee.

So, I am going to bring you along for the ride with updates on my progress!

Thanks for reading!

6 Responses to “Week 0”

  1. TriFemme November 29, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    Shannon on I know how you feel with the “only” 200 yards. I was injured and restarted training after 3 months off. I felt like a loser with only 500m in the pool. I know its hard, but just keep telling yourself its for the best. It helps me survive the frustration of wanting to do more. Granted it doesn’t make it totally stop either. 🙂

  2. Laura M November 29, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    Good luck, Shannon! So happy that you’re bringing us along. I definitely need the inspiration!

  3. deirdre martin November 29, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Hey Shannon, I am so excited for you and I look forward to your blogs as u take us on your journey. I have this HIM on my list too… I can’t wait to hear the recap!
    Happy Training!

    • Lt. Awesomesauce November 29, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      Aw! Thanks for the compliment! You are going to do awesome. And relish in these base building weeks, you’ll be crazy tired during the peak weeks which will totally make up for it.

  4. Trainer Ali December 1, 2012 at 12:25 am #

    Ok, Shannon! I show we have a 900 yard swim on Monday…..is that correct? I will be in the pool for 900 yards…..what a relief….I’ve done nothing all week…..I guess that means it was my week 0 as well. Does 11:30 sound good?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 0 Recap « Tough Chik - December 4, 2012

    […] you read my previous post on Week 0 you will know that I got a jump start on training last week and will have 2 weeks of “Week […]

Leave a Reply

