2013 Memorial Hermann Ironman 70.3 Texas

6 Jul

Yep, I took the plunge and I am shitting bricks (sorry for the potty mouth). If you aren’t familiar with the crazy, wacky world that is Triathlons, let me help you out here.  A 70.3 (stands for 70.3 miles) or a half Ironman, is just that, half the distance of an Ironman which is a 1.2 mile swim, a 56 mile bike and a 13.3 mile run.

Why Texas you might ask, well that is pretty easy.  If I am racing 70.3 miles, I want people there. It might only happen once and I need witnesses!  I am kidding (kind of), but the real reason is one word…FLAT!!!!  I am SO over 1200 ft of climbing in a bike race, I want flat and fast.  Plus the timing works for me.  April 7th is right before my travel schedule for work gets crazy and after the first week in April, training is pretty impossible.

I had a less than stellar Olympic distance debut, but I learned a lot and lets hope that knowledge is power!

1.2 mile swim

I am not a fast swimmer, but I am pretty confident that I will be able to “make it through” the swim as long as the water isn’t too choppy.  My Olympic distance swim ended up being between 1.2 and 1.5 miles due to a miss-placed buoy and I was fine.  Of course lake and ocean are different, but I am lucky enough to live a hop, skip and a jump from the pacific, which is way more daunting than the Gulf.  All I really need to worry about here is jellyfish and dirty diapers (kidding – I grew up playing in the Gulf)

Challenge – spotting.  I am ALL OVER THE PLACE in open water.  A zig zagging mess, I swear I swim at least an extra 25 yards for every 250 just correcting myself.

56 mile bike

Cake, right?  Well nothing about a 70.3 is cake, but this is the least of my worries.  Like I mentioned the bike course is flat and I live in a very hilly part of the country, so this will be nice.  Any time you are along bodies of water, you do need to worry about wind.  Wind is NOT my friend, but I do spend a lot of time ridding in it, so I will be prepared for wind.

Challenge – fuel.  I am NOTORIOUS for not eating or drinking on the bike.  I get in the zone and put it off.  It was my downfall in my Olympic distance tri and is actually going to be one of the biggest challenges I face.  Fueling properly and find that balance of what works for me.

13.1 mile run

This is the kicker, this is what I am worried about.  I will ride an extra 100 miles, instead of running 13!  This is what has kept me away from longer distance tris, running is my weakness.  I have a solid 10K base, so I just need to build and start back with the brick workouts.  At least it is flat!

Challenge – besides running 13.1 miles, will be the heat and humidity.  I tend to do well in the heat, but I don’t have to deal with it a lot.  Humidity…I never run in humidity and not really sure how I train for it.

I have 9 months, so I have plenty of time to train.  I will follow a training plan and as long as I stay healthy and get my fuel figured out, I will be fine.  It might take awhile, no record breaking here, but I will be able to cover the distance.

Here goes nuthin!

4 Responses to “2013 Memorial Hermann Ironman 70.3 Texas”

  1. Michelle Bouchard (@ltlindian) July 6, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    wow! that is exciting! I can’t wrap my brain around the amount of training needed for a 70.3 so I probably won’t have one on my schedule for a long while. You will do great!

  2. Niki July 6, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    You will do great, Shannon!! I am so excited for you! I would love to conquer this distance one day. Maybe I’ll join you! Ha 🙂

  3. jnkmiles.org July 7, 2012 at 5:19 am #

    This is the best race EVER and by far my favorite.

    You are going to have a wonderful time training and racing…..your hill work is going to help you so much….

    Let me know if you’re curious about the course or if during training you have any questions about what I did and what I’m changing

    Can’t wait to see you there

  4. Christine July 8, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    You will do GREAT! Enjoy your training!!

Leave a Reply

